Staff Pick Badge
Convenience Store Woman Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780802129628
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Grove Press - September 17th, 2019

The exceptionally practical title character may seem strange to the customers and coworkers around her, but you find that they have quirks and petty ways of their own in this sharp, funny, delightful slice of modern social commentary. 



Staff Pick Badge
Home Fire: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780735217690
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Riverhead Books - September 4th, 2018

A genius retelling of Antigone set in the modern world, with modern issues that will make you feel the full impact of the original play. This novel is beautifully written, with deep and complicated relationships.  

 



Staff Pick Badge
Three Dark Crowns Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062385444
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Quill Tree Books - April 3rd, 2018

Rich and dark like a guilty pleasure! Three sisters that love and hate each other possess witchly gifts and are forced inot a bloody competition. 

Blake deliciously balances perspectives so that you can see where the story's going but cannot stop it, and you don't know exactly how it will all turn out. Fantastically satisfying. 



Staff Pick Badge
The Municipalists: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143133735
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Penguin Books - March 19th, 2019

This smart cop-film parody had me laughing like a crazy person on the bus to work. A dry desk worker teams up with an annoying, witty supercomputer-hologram-like-being to basically save the world. Great for fans of Hot Fuzz or Red Dwarf.



Staff Pick Badge
Alchemy for Cells & Other Beasts Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780997395730
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Entre Rios Books - October 3rd, 2017

 

This is my favorite book of poetry on our shelves, by a local writer matched so well with a local illustrator for a surreal but comforting brew. 

Maya works the subtle anxieties of women with physical ailment, working the complex chemistry of a body and of surroundings. I drank up her earthy, smoky spells while healing from surgery myself.



Staff Pick Badge
Wow, No Thank You.: Essays Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780525563488
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Vintage - March 31st, 2020

Get a glass of your preferred summer beverage and take this treat to the patio. I loved her Zoom event, and this one is as funny and real as her first book!



Staff Pick Badge
Sabrina & Corina: Stories Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525511304
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: One World - April 7th, 2020

was hungry for something toothsome--this collection blew me away and hit the spot like a messy midnight fried egg sandwich. These stories grab you and bring you in close to the families, fears, yearnings of the characters in an unguarded way that might be afraid to let you know but will spill it anyway. Adroitly composed with complex emotion--this was an excellent release for the pent-up stress from the past months.



Staff Pick Badge
A Girl is A Body of Water Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781951142049
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Tin House Books - September 1st, 2020

Expanding on the phrase, “Drop a girl in a body of water and let her find her depth”--this is an amazing story with full feelings. I had to take a long walk after reading it  just to digest and let all the ideas inside swirl around in my head. 

It follows Kirabo from girlhood to maturity and the women in her life who influenced her -- from the “witch” down the street, her step-mother, and her grandmother, to her village friends and city school friends -- all representing different traditional or modern points of view that challenged and stretched her to become a strong woman in historical Uganda full of civil unrest and growing feminist influence. 

Warm and inspiring but still realistic. I will definitely be following this author in the future!



Staff Pick Badge
Woolly: The True Story of the Quest to Revive History's Most Iconic Extinct Creature Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501135569
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Atria Books - June 12th, 2018

The author of The Accidental Billionaires and Bringing Down the House gives us the funny and fascinating science and scientists trying to bring back the beast. The best part--just why they’re doing it and how they convince the government to fund them. I won’t spoil it for you, but...Mammoths could save the world!



Staff Pick Badge
The Gift: Poems by Hafiz, the Great Sufi Master (Compass) Cover Image
$21.00
ISBN: 9780140195811
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Penguin Books - August 1st, 1999

Here, friend. Be well.



Staff Pick Badge
The Best We Could Do: An Illustrated Memoir Cover Image
By Thi Bui
$18.99
ISBN: 9781419718786
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Harry N. Abrams - April 17th, 2018

I couldn’t believe this was her first go at graphic novels! Bui tells her family's immigration story in expressions of rusty brown that represent both the heartwarming and heartbreaking shades of her memory. I marveled how the color shows the blend of associations and intention--is it warm like spilt coffee, or broody like mud? Either way, it's as soft and deep as the fog of recollection.



Staff Pick Badge
The Woman Who Had Two Navels and Tales of the Tropical Gothic Cover Image
By Nick Joaquin, Gina Apostol (Foreword by), Vicente L. Rafael (Introduction by)
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143130710
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Penguin Classics - April 18th, 2017

This collection of short stories drops you in at different points in time and warps reality. Sometimes comic, sometimes edged in darkness, Joaquin examines colonial history, myth, modern Philippines and diaspora, and the dynamics between generations and space. Totally refreshing to read modern Philippine literature.



Staff Pick Badge
Dragons and Marshmallows (Zoey and Sassafras #1) Cover Image
By Asia Citro, Marion Lindsay (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9781943147090
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Innovation Press - March 14th, 2017

Girls are super scientists too! This series dips into the basics of the scientific process and the natural world with fun friends like neighborly monsters and a curious, lively cat! Perfect for grades 1-3.



Staff Pick Badge
A Passage to India Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780156711425
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days
Published: Mariner Books -

For the travel, culture, and classic literature lover! Let’s critique prejudice, exoticism, and naive benevolence.



Staff Pick Badge
The Twenty Days of Turin: A Novel Cover Image
By Giorgio De Maria, Ramon Glazov (Translated by)
$24.95
ISBN: 9781631492297
Availability: Unavailable - due in 2-4 weeks
Published: Liveright - February 7th, 2017

An Italian classic, this is the freaky, fantastic story of a mystery illness sweeping, howling, screaming through town. Part horror story, part social criticism in old-timey language. Good for fans of Camus, Lovecraft, Walpole. 



Staff Pick Badge
The Refrigerator Monologues Cover Image
By Catherynne M. Valente, Annie Wu (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781481459341
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - June 6th, 2017

Valente does a fantastic job creating colorful, delicious voices for scorned women sacrificed in order to further the storylines of popular superheroes. Feels like Chicago's "Cell Block Tango," and you can almost hear the noir-ish saxophone behind each story. 



The Terrible Two Cover Image
By Mac Barnett, Jory John (With), Kevin Cornell (Illustrator)
$13.95
ISBN: 9781419714917
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days
Published: Harry N. Abrams - January 13th, 2015

I was psyched when I heard about this collaboration between two of my favorite masters of dry humor in kids' lit. And it's a SUCCESS.

I really wish I could meet Niles in real life. He's kind of a mastermind who can make any scheme go down, with the suavity of James Bond and the quirks and optimism of Dr. Who.



Staff Pick Badge
The Diamond Age: Or, a Young Lady's Illustrated Primer Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780553380965
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Spectra - May 2nd, 2000

A nervous inventor, thieving ragamuffins, a struggling actress, corrupt politicians, and a girl who has to navigate Stephenson's imaginative and complicated cyberpunk society. A story about education, resources, crime, class, privilege, and the power of books.



Staff Pick Badge
Obasan Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780385468862
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Anchor - December 27th, 1993

I love the balance of this story: Naomi pieces together her earliest childhood memories with her aging grandmother's fractured recollections. The author constructs her prose with amazing care and describes a Canadian countryside rich in symbolism and historical signifigance.



Staff Pick Badge
An Artist of the Floating World (Vintage International) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780679722663
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Vintage - September 19th, 1989

One of Ishiguro's earlier works and the one that made me read all the rest. Like his later novels, this book guides the reader through a worried but ordinary mind in extraordinary circumstances. An aging and pensive Japanese artist kneads his faulty memory to recollect and justify his life and decisions before and during WWII. Put some time aside to read this one slowly and well!