The Twenty Days of Turin Cover Image
By Giorgio De Maria, Ramon Glazov (Translator)
$24.95
ISBN: 9781631492297
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Liveright Publishing Corporation - February 7th, 2017

An Italian classic, this is the freaky, fantastic story of a mystery illness sweeping, howling, screaming through town. Part horror story, part social criticism in old-timey language. Good for fans of Camus, Lovecraft, Walpole. 



The Refrigerator Monologues Cover Image
By Catherynne M. Valente, Annie Wu (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781481459341
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Saga Press - June 6th, 2017

Valente does a fantastic job creating colorful, delicious voices for scorned women sacrificed in order to further the storylines of popular superheroes. Feels like Chicago's "Cell Block Tango," and you can almost hear the noir-ish saxophone behind each story. 



The Terrible Two Cover Image
By Mac Barnett, Jory John, Kevin Cornell (Illustrator)
$13.95
ISBN: 9781419714917
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days
Published: Amulet Books - January 13th, 2015

I was psyched when I heard about this collaboration between two of my favorite masters of dry humor in kids' lit. And it's a SUCCESS.

I really wish I could meet Niles in real life. He's kind of a mastermind who can make any scheme go down, with the suavity of James Bond and the quirks and optimism of Dr. Who.



The Diamond Age: Or, a Young Lady's Illustrated Primer Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780553380965
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Spectra Books - May 2nd, 2000

A nervous inventor, thieving ragamuffins, a struggling actress, corrupt politicians, and a girl who has to navigate Stephenson's imaginative and complicated cyberpunk society. A story about education, resources, crime, class, privilege, and the power of books.



Obasan Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780385468862
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Anchor Books - December 27th, 1993

I love the balance of this story: Naomi pieces together her earliest childhood memories with her aging grandmother's fractured recollections. The author constructs her prose with amazing care and describes a Canadian countryside rich in symbolism and historical signifigance.



An Artist of the Floating World Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780679722663
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Vintage - September 19th, 1989

One of Ishiguro's earlier works and the one that made me read all the rest. Like his later novels, this book guides the reader through a worried but ordinary mind in extraordinary circumstances. An aging and pensive Japanese artist kneads his faulty memory to recollect and justify his life and decisions before and during WWII. Put some time aside to read this one slowly and well!