Staff Pick Logo
Woolly: The True Story of the Quest to Revive History's Most Iconic Extinct Creature Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501135569
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Atria Books - June 12th, 2018

The author of The Accidental Billionaires and Bringing Down the House gives us the funny and fascinating science and scientists trying to bring back the beast. The best part--just why they’re doing it and how they convince the government to fund them. I won’t spoil it for you, but...Mammoths could save the world!



Staff Pick Logo
The Gift: Poems by Hafiz, the Great Sufi Master (Compass) Cover Image
By Hafiz, Daniel Ladinsky (Translated by)
$20.00
ISBN: 9780140195811
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Penguin Books - August 1st, 1999

Here, friend. Be well.



Staff Pick Logo
The Best We Could Do: An Illustrated Memoir Cover Image
By Thi Bui
$17.99
ISBN: 9781419718786
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Abrams ComicArts - April 17th, 2018

I couldn’t believe this was her first go at graphic novels! Bui tells her family's immigration story in expressions of rusty brown that represent both the heartwarming and heartbreaking shades of her memory. I marveled how the color shows the blend of associations and intention--is it warm like spilt coffee, or broody like mud? Either way, it's as soft and deep as the fog of recollection.




Staff Pick Logo
Dragons and Marshmallows (Zoey and Sassafras #1) Cover Image
By Asia Citro, Marion Lindsay (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9781943147090
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Innovation Press - March 14th, 2017

Girls are super scientists too! This series dips into the basics of the scientific process and the natural world with fun friends like neighborly monsters and a curious, lively cat! Perfect for grades 1-3.



Staff Pick Logo
A Passage to India Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780156711425
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Mariner Books - March 17th, 1965

For the travel, culture, and classic literature lover! Let’s critique prejudice, exoticism, and naive benevolence.



Staff Pick Logo
The Twenty Days of Turin Cover Image
By Giorgio De Maria, Ramon Glazov (Translator)
$24.95
ISBN: 9781631492297
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Liveright Publishing Corporation - February 7th, 2017

An Italian classic, this is the freaky, fantastic story of a mystery illness sweeping, howling, screaming through town. Part horror story, part social criticism in old-timey language. Good for fans of Camus, Lovecraft, Walpole. 



Staff Pick Logo
The Refrigerator Monologues Cover Image
By Catherynne M. Valente, Annie Wu (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781481459341
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days
Published: Saga Press - June 6th, 2017

Valente does a fantastic job creating colorful, delicious voices for scorned women sacrificed in order to further the storylines of popular superheroes. Feels like Chicago's "Cell Block Tango," and you can almost hear the noir-ish saxophone behind each story. 



The Terrible Two Cover Image
By Mac Barnett, Jory John, Kevin Cornell (Illustrator)
$13.95
ISBN: 9781419714917
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days
Published: Amulet Books - January 13th, 2015

I was psyched when I heard about this collaboration between two of my favorite masters of dry humor in kids' lit. And it's a SUCCESS.

I really wish I could meet Niles in real life. He's kind of a mastermind who can make any scheme go down, with the suavity of James Bond and the quirks and optimism of Dr. Who.



Staff Pick Logo
The Diamond Age: Or, a Young Lady's Illustrated Primer Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780553380965
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Spectra - May 2nd, 2000

A nervous inventor, thieving ragamuffins, a struggling actress, corrupt politicians, and a girl who has to navigate Stephenson's imaginative and complicated cyberpunk society. A story about education, resources, crime, class, privilege, and the power of books.



Staff Pick Logo
Obasan Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780385468862
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Anchor - December 27th, 1993

I love the balance of this story: Naomi pieces together her earliest childhood memories with her aging grandmother's fractured recollections. The author constructs her prose with amazing care and describes a Canadian countryside rich in symbolism and historical signifigance.



Staff Pick Logo
An Artist of the Floating World (Vintage International) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780679722663
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Vintage - September 19th, 1989

One of Ishiguro's earlier works and the one that made me read all the rest. Like his later novels, this book guides the reader through a worried but ordinary mind in extraordinary circumstances. An aging and pensive Japanese artist kneads his faulty memory to recollect and justify his life and decisions before and during WWII. Put some time aside to read this one slowly and well!