Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
Hollow Kingdom By Kira Jane Buxton Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781538745830
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Grand Central Publishing - July 7th, 2020

Is it absurd to use a domesticated crow and his blood hound sidekick to tell the story of a zombie apocalypse? Or just absurd that no one has ever thought to create such a hilariously profane avian hero, in the midst of an identity crisis and spurred on by a love for Cheetos? Either way, "Hollow Kingdom" is a glorious Seattle receptacle where the movie “Zombieland” and the book “The Truth About Animals” are tossed together with the anthropomorphized voices of the urban animal kingdom. Now, my only hope is that this clever cast of characters will rescue my cat when I succumb to the pull of my phone and the audiobook read in the many voices of Robert Petkoff.


Review by Katelynn

Staff Pick Badge
Everything Inside: Stories By Edwidge Danticat Cover Image
$25.95
Unavailable at this time.
ISBN: 9780525521273
Published: Knopf - August 27th, 2019

The epigraph of Edwidge Danticat's new story collection generously claims that everyone experiences diaspora, as we are exiled from our mother's body as soon as we are born. What follows are stories that strive to prove its' universality with equal attention to tenderness and brutality. In this collection that lingers on family and death, she has tapped directly into the core of human experience. This book will make you cry, probably in public, so prepare accordingly.


Review by Kitri

Staff Pick Badge
Tell Me How You Really Feel By Aminah Mae Safi Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250251022
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 3-10 days
Published: Square Fish - October 13th, 2020

This YA novel is essentially Rory and Paris fanfiction, if Rory was Persian and Paris was Jewish-Mexican. Oh, and if they were lesbians with secret crushes on one another. It's everything you wanted that Netflix's last season of Gilmore Girls didn't deliver.

Rachel and Sana hate each other. When a chance blunder at school forces a collaboration in Rachel's senior film, neither girl trusts the other to get it right. And, as much as she is loathe to agree with her film adviser, Rachel knows Sana is perfectly cast as her Helen of Troy. Soon, the prim cheerleader is narrating the Greek epic and demanding other changes. With only 30 days left to meet academic deadlines, Rachel needs the film to be perfect to clinch her spot at NYU... and Sana needs a distraction as she runs down the clock on mailing her deposit to Princeton. The sweetest romance could bloom between them if they cast aside fear and their prep school personas. 



Staff Pick Badge
This Is How You Lose the Time War By Amal El-Mohtar, Max Gladstone Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781534430990
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: S&S/Saga Press - March 17th, 2020

This is a blossoming romance set among the rubble of incomprehensible destruction. This is not Doctor Who fan-fiction, nor is it the concrete, expository science fiction we're used to. This is for the dreamers who want to look through broken windows into another reality.


Review by Kitri

Staff Pick Badge
The Bookish Life of Nina Hill By Abbi Waxman Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780451491879
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Berkley - July 9th, 2019

With my own cozy reading chair and judgmental cat, I spent most of this book believing Abbi Waxman had probed my brain while I was sleeping. Frankly, I’d be surprised if other bookish folks, general nerds, or organization enthusiasts didn’t feel the same way. It’s a perfectly weird combination of rampant thoughts, happy places, and anxious social encounters; the frustration and comfort of a crazy family; a thoughtful love letter to booksellers and bookstore patrons. Add the sassy narrator, scents of pine and flavors of ice cream, and sickeningly cute romance--and I'm sure it’d pair well with summer itself.


Review by Katelynn

The Need By Helen Phillips Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781982113179
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: S&S/ Marysue Rucci Books - July 7th, 2020

This speculative fiction starts off with a chilling home invasion (which had me double-checking every closet in my house), followed by a twisted path of paranoia, doppelgangers, and the varying limits of a mother's love when pushed to unspeakable brinks. The journey of the overwhelmed main character - explored in quick, disjointed segments - only raises more questions than answers, as well as the sneaking suspicion that she may just be losing her mind and dragging the reader along with her into the abyss.  


Review by Sarah C.

Staff Pick Badge
The Great Eastern By Howard Rodman Cover Image
$27.99
Unavailable at this time.
ISBN: 9781612197852
Published: Melville House - June 4th, 2019

Isambard Kingdom Brunel—legendary civil engineer and real historical figure—is trapped in a game of cat and mouse between Captains Nemo and Ahab in this entertaining literary pastiche in which two of the greatest monomaniacs in Victorian adventure writing are drawn into a deadly collision course. Laying undersea cable has never sounded so thrilling.


Review by Stephen

Staff Pick Badge
Juliet the Maniac: A Novel By Juliet Escoria Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781685891275
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Melville House - April 9th, 2024

Who is Juliet? She's any of us who ever felt like they were losing their minds. She's the friend you have that's beautiful and brilliant but can scare you sometimes. She's honest, she's real. She's you and she's me. For those who suffer from mental illness, this book will make you feel less alone. Read this book!


Review by Rosa

Staff Pick Badge
The Ballad of Black Tom By Victor LaValle Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780765387868
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Tordotcom - February 16th, 2016

What an angry and satisfying story. Apart from creating a compelling and morally ambiguous character worthy of his own series, Lavalle serves up a rebut to the xenophobia writhing in the depths of the Lovecraft mythos. This book made me hold up foot traffic on the way to the store, demanding that I finish the heartbreaking chapter before I took another step. J'adore. 



Staff Pick Badge
All of Us with Wings By Michelle Ruiz Keil Cover Image
$10.99
Unavailable at this time.
ISBN: 9781641291354
Published: Soho Teen - July 7th, 2020

Is it fate that intertwines 17-yr-old Xochi and 12-yr-old Pallas, or is it simply kindred spirit? On the night of the Autumn Equinox, they cast a playful spell and summon two eerie, green forest children - "Water Babies" in Native American lore - but these creatures do more than cause vivid dreams. Told from multiple POV's (including a bookstore cat!) with interludes in verse and oral storytelling, Keil's debut is a lush, magical novel of first loves and found family. 

A delightfully dark "New Adult" read for fans of Francesca Lia Block, Sherman Alexie, and Hayao Miyazaki. 



Pages