Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
The Things We've Seen Cover Image
$21.95
ISBN: 9781913097301
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Fitzcarraldo Editions - August 3rd, 2021

Agustín Fernández Mallo's magnum opus is a monstrous book that reaches out and touches everything—love and sentimentalism, war, our pitiful human intelligence, moon landings, physics and dead stars, car chases, Facebook, rooftop tomato gardens—yet is somehow still accessible in Thomas Bunstead's elegant translation. You can't walk away from this novel without feeling brutally changed. There are one-liners that will digest you whole. After 600 pages, you'll realize you've been standing next to a mountain. For readers of W.G. Sebald and Daša Drndić.


Review by Spencer R.