Staff Picks by Tag

The Only Survivors: A Novel By Megan Miranda Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781668010426
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: S&S/ Marysue Rucci Books - March 12th, 2024

Megan Miranda is at the top of her game with The Only Survivors. Ten years ago, a school volunteer trip ended in tragedy as all but nine students perished when the bus plunged into a raging river. Despite, or perhaps because of, their shared trauma, the "only survivors" have made an unspoken pact: to gather every year on the anniversary, to watch out for one another as their numbers dwindle, to never let outsiders know the horror of what they experienced that day. This year is different though, the cracks in their bond are not just internal, someone else knows their secrets and they are not alone


Review by Deborah

Winter Counts: A Novel By David Heska Wanbli Weiden Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062968951
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Ecco - July 6th, 2021

Weiden's debut is a fast-paced page turner about complex modern justice and drug trafficking, with a big, beating heart that flushes its pages with compassion. Don't miss out on this one! For fans of S.A. Cosby, Lee Child, Marcy Rendon, and Don Winslow.


Review by Christina

Staff Pick Badge
None of This Is True: A Novel By Lisa Jewell Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982179007
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Atria Books - August 8th, 2023

Josie and Alix meet while celebrating their 45th birthdays - they’re birthday twins. Discovering that Alix has a podcast, Josie seeks her out to share her story, as a kind of new beginning. Josie dated her mom’s boyfriend when he was 42 and married, and she was just 15. Married soon after and with daughters of her own, Josie wants what Alix seemingly has. But Alix’s life isn’t perfect, with a busy family, a husband with a severe alcohol problem and a desire to tell Josie’s story that may be riskier than it’s worth. Told with a mix of chronological narrative, podcast transcripts, interviews and more, this thriller will convince you and then lead you astray.


Review by Laura

Staff Pick Badge
Sharp Objects: A Novel By Gillian Flynn Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780307341556
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Crown - July 31st, 2007

When journalist Camille Preaker returns to her tiny hometown to report on a local murder, deep-rooted family issues and an overwhelming sense of claustrophobia quickly take hold. I love a good mystery, and Flynn’s character-driven, deeply atmospheric writing immediately drew me in. Suspenseful, original, and subtlety sinister, this kept me guessing until the very end.

 


Review by Jade

Staff Pick Badge
The Eden Test: A Novel By Adam Sternbergh Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250855664
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Flatiron Books - April 25th, 2023

The new Gone Girl. Married couple, Craig and Daisy, are keeping secrets from each other. But someone has a scheme that involves an isolated cabin in upstate New York and a program to test their relationship. Will they make it through unscathed or will their past come back to kill them? Is love really strong enough?

 


Review by Emily

Staff Pick Badge
The Continental Affair: A Novel By Christine Mangan Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250788481
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Flatiron Books - August 22nd, 2023

A suspenseful, cat-and-mouse chase that unfolds deliciously. Henri trails Louise across Europe, to Paris from Spain and then on to Istanbul, each destination vibrating with possibility. Will he catch her and return the money? Will she escape him or surrender to her guilt? Louise unravels, Henri doesn't sleep, and ghosts follow them from bus to train to ferry. Told in alternating, dual timelines and perspectives, Mangan's latest is admittedly less atmospheric yet delivers the unease and doubt that are signature to her previous books.

 



Staff Pick Badge
The Mountain in the Sea: A Novel By Ray Nayler Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9781250872272
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Picador - May 30th, 2023

The Mountain in the Sea" is a mesmerizing read, like watching an octopus shift seamlessly from one camouflage to another.  It is at once a hard scifi novel exploring the mapping of the human brain, a first-contact tale in which the sentient alien species we encounter comes not from the sky, but the sea.  It is also an environmental thriller, complete with corporate espionage and weapons tech.  But at its heart it is an elegy to the aquatic world we are on the verge of destroying, with perhaps a ray of hope at the end.


Review by Deborah

Staff Pick Badge
I'm Thinking of Ending Things: A Novel By Iain Reid Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781501126949
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - March 21st, 2017

#1 on my "I wish I'd read the book first!" list.

 

If you haven't watched the movie adaptation of this book on Netflix yet, wait! Devour the book then definitely watch the movie because they did a fantastic job capturing its bizarre essence. But, if you can, let this eerie road trip adventure unfold page by page the first time you experience it. This book is a subversive journey through genres that ends with a big red bow that may or may not be dripping with blood. If you like complicated relationships, inner dialogue, puzzles that don't feel like puzzles, and don't mind things getting a little weird, this wonderfully strange novel is for you. 

 



Staff Pick Badge
Such a Quiet Place: A Novel By Megan Miranda Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781982147297
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: S&S/ Marysue Rucci Books - June 14th, 2022

Hollow's Edge is "such a quiet place." A neighborhood of employees of the local college, the inhabitants are boringly middle-class, white, well-educated and outwardly friendly. It's a seemingly safe place until the murder of the Truetts a year and a half ago.  Luckily, the security camera footage, nosy neighbors and police all agree who is the one bad apple in the bunch, Ruby Fletcher.  With Ruby in jail and banished from their collective memory, life returns to normal in Hollow's Edge.  Until the day Ruby reappears on their doorstep bringing vengeance only the wrongly convicted can wreak.


Review by Deborah

Staff Pick Badge
One of the Girls By Lucy Clarke Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593422663
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - May 2nd, 2023

Lucy Clarke has taken what could be a tired thriller cliché-six friends celebrating a hen weekend on an isolated Greek island complete with simmering rivalries and secrets-and created a compelling look at women's complicated relationships and shared history.

Certainly someone will meet their end on those steep Greek cliffs, but others will find love, peace and redemption.  All packaged in a perfect summer read.


Review by Deborah

Pages