Search form

Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
Three Hours in Paris Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781641292580
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Soho Crime - March 30th, 2021

Cara Black has entertained us for over twenty years with her series featuring Aimee Ledue, a young, stylish PI who knows 1990's Paris inside and out. Who better to write a World War II thriller set in Paris starring young American widow Kate Rees who has been selected by the British and trained as a sniper with one goal: to assassinate Hitler on his brief, 3 hour stop in Paris.

If you love mysteries but also enjoy The Nightingale or The Alice Network, Cara Black has written a book for you! 


Review by Deborah

Staff Pick Badge
His & Hers: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250266095
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Flatiron Books - March 30th, 2021

There is a complex web surrounding the characters in "His & Hers" stretching back twenty years to the night five sixteen year-old girls went into the woods together and two of them came out changed forever.  Now the sticky strings of the we have reached out and ensnared the grown women those girls have become.  Ringleader Rachel Hopkins has been killed in the very same woods and on the scene is BBC presenter Anna Andrews, one of the five original friends, as well as DCI Jack Harper who also has reasons to want Rachel dead.  Told in alternating chapters, "His & Hers" will keep you guessing until the very end.


Review by Deborah

Staff Pick Badge
The Windsor Knot: A Novel (Her Majesty the Queen Investigates #1) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063050006
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: William Morrow - March 9th, 2021

An absolutely delightful read for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Alan Bradley, where Queen Elizabeth must step in to solve a mysterious death at Windsor Castle when England's top investigators have failed.  On the eve of the Queen's 90th birthday celebration, the Castle is full of guests, including a dashing young Russian pianist found dead in his guest room.  Is it an accident, suicide, a jealous husband or Putin's secret agents?  Only Her Majesty can solve this puzzling case!


Review by Deborah

Staff Pick Badge
Amari and the Night Brothers (Supernatural Investigations #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062975164
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 19th, 2021

Amari's adventure begins when she receives a package from her missing brother. Before he went missing, he nominated her for an elite summer camp with the Bureau of Supernatural Affairs. She has a lot of catching up to do if she wants to fit in with her supernatural peers and solve her brother's disappearance!


Review by Sarah B.

Staff Pick Badge
One by One Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781501188817
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 3-10 days
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - September 8th, 2020

Ruth Ware is the master of the contemporary locked room mystery and I would follow her anywhere.  Murder amongst frenemies in an isolated cabin? Check. Disappearing woman overboard on a luxury yacht? Check. Mysterious happenings at a secluded Highland manor house? Check. So when she packed her bags to join a corporate retreat in the Alps, I threw warm clothes and my deductive reasoning in my suitcase to join her.  Since we can’t travel in real life, it’s the next best thing.  Just watch your back!


Review by Deborah

Staff Pick Badge
Final Cut: A Novel Cover Image
$28.99
Unavailable at this time.
ISBN: 9780062382153
Published: Harper - August 25th, 2020

Popular opinion traces the dawn of the age of the psychological thriller to “Gone Girl” in June 2012, however, for me it began with S.J. Watson’s “Before I Go to Sleep” published a year earlier.  A tale with a narrator so unreliable she herself doesn’t remember the facts of her life from day to day, coupled with a truly suspect domestic relationship, Watson’s debut lacked only the titular “girl” in it’s heralding of a new era.  Now he returns with his third effort, the story of a small village with an inordinate number of missing girls and a filmmaker with a missing past who is as desperate to solve both puzzles as someone else is to keep both her and the dead quiet.  Welcome back, S.J. Watson.

 


Review by Deborah

Staff Pick Badge
The Gone Dead: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
Unavailable at this time.
ISBN: 9780062490698
Published: Ecco - June 25th, 2019

I appreciate books that entertain me and require me to think hard about the world we live in. This book did both. Billie James has inherited a small cabin in the Mississippi Delta and a little money along with the mystery of how her famous poet/civil rights activist father died thirty years before. Soon after she and her dog arrive at the cabin, she becomes entangled in her own (lost) memories and begins asking questions that uncover dangerous small town secrets about race, family, and justice. Chanelle Benz writes the Mississippi Delta as a character to be reckoned with in the way Walter Mosley writes about Los Angeles and Attica Locke writes about Texas. If you like mysteries, books set in the south with a Southern Gothic feel, and great writing, this will satisfy your need for a great summer read.



Staff Pick Badge
Magic for Liars: A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250174628
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Tor Books - May 5th, 2020

If The Dresden Files and The Magicians had a book baby, this would be it. Our heroine is an ordinary private eye hired to solve a murder at a boarding school for magical teenagers. Unfortunately, it's also the school where her magical twin sister, Tabitha, works. As Ivy gets further involved in the inner workings of the school, its faculty, and its students, she questions her sanity and skill. Can she keep up appearances, find the killer, and reunite with Tabitha?

Excellent storytelling with a plot that had me guessing "whodunnit" until the last 50 pages.


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
Allmen and the Dragonflies Cover Image
By Martin Suter, Steph Morris (Translator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781939931573
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: New Vessel Press - May 8th, 2018

Johan Friedrich von Allmen, well-educated, heir to a vast fortune, never employed, has found himself in reduced circumstances. Forced to relocate to the gardenhouse of his Swiss estate with only his resourceful Guatemalan butler, Carlos, for company, Allmen is in  desperate need of funds. When an opportunity to pilfer Art Nouveau glass bowls from a neighbor arises, Allmen becomes first thief then detective in this delightful crime caper. 


Review by Deborah

Staff Pick Badge
Greenglass House Cover Image
By Kate Milford, Jaime Zollars (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780544540286
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Clarion Books - November 1st, 2016

Twelve-year-old Milo can't wait for Christmas break at his adoptive parents' inn. But when strange guests start arriving one by one, Milo's plans for a relaxing winter break turn upside down. With rumors of a mystery surrounding the very inn in which Milo has spent his childhood, and with each guest acting stranger than the last, Milo sets out to discover the mystery of Greenglass House. Falling into this cozy mystery is the perfect way to spend any blustery, fall day!


Review by Claire

Pages