Search form

Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982102548
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Atria Books - September 7th, 2021

This is one of the best books I've read in a while. Cordova's writing is straight epic and took me on a journey that I wont forget. If you need some magic in your life right now, pick this up now! 


Review by Rosa

Staff Pick Badge
The Manningtree Witches Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781646220649
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Catapult - August 10th, 2021

Drawing influences from Silvia Federici and historical accounts from 17th century England, A.K. Blakemore's debut is as stunning in its language as it is terrifying in its subject matter. And while the persecution of strange women is by no means new territory, the internal battle between Rebecca and her youthful desires, as well as her relationship to the accused women around her, make this less a story about the Witchhunter General and more about the women who were sent to the gallows because they dared to live and survive beyond the edges of a patriarchal and puritanical society. 

 


Review by Sarah C.

Staff Pick Badge
Her Body and Other Parties: Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977887
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Graywolf Press - October 3rd, 2017

This short story collection was unlike anything I've ever read. I've never seen women and queerness so front and center in this way and Machado does it all with a breezy air of magical realism. From a retold fable with parenthetical asides to reimagined Law & Order plotlines to an inventory of lovers set against a global virus (which may hit close to home, eesh). I hope it sticks with you like it has stuck with me.


Review by Emily

Staff Pick Badge
The Book of Lost Saints Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250185815
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Imprint - November 5th, 2019

I could not put this book down. Marisol's spirit visits her nephew Ramon in modern-day New Jersey and prompts him to unearth painful family history and discover what happened to her after she disappeared during the Cuban Revolution. This story is many things - funny, heart-warming, captivating - and it is one of the few books that can make me laugh and cry while reading the same page.


Review by Kelly

Staff Pick Badge
Miss Meteor Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062869913
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: HarperTeen - September 22nd, 2020

This book has so much heart. The magical realism element adds depth and creates a complex, yet fresh, metaphor with the word "alien". The story is a classic high school makeover-and-revenge plot. What sets it apart from other #ownvoices YA is the pansexual lead character, the trans love interest, the otherworldly best friend, and many unique small town dramatics. Think Miss Congeniality: the New Mexico high school Latinx edition.
 


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
Every Day Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780307931894
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Ember - September 10th, 2013

This is a story of the impossible. "A" wakes up in a new body every day: male or female teen, the same geographical area, and never a body twice. That's 24 hours to have the least impact, to get through the day and have a neutral effect. That is, until "A" wakes up in the body of Rhiannon's boyfriend. Now "A" is going against better judgment to see her and kindle a relationship -- but at what cost? A beautiful, tender examination of gender amidst a variety of topical issues: mental health, first love, and biological family.


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
Tigers, Not Daughters Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781616208967
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 3-10 days
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - March 24th, 2020

What's most striking about this story is how much you care. From the first page, I was entranced and had no real interest in doing anything else with my life until I got to the last page. The story follows three sisters who are being haunted by their late sister's ghost. And yet, it's also not really about that at all. It's about grief, sisterhood, survival and taking back power. Not to mention that the writing is such that it constantly leaves you in an aftermath of wonder. I'm positive I'll be thinking of the Torres sisters for years to come.


Review by Claire

Staff Pick Badge
The Vet's Daughter Cover Image
By Barbara Comyns, Kathryn Davis (Introduction by)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781590170298
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: NYRB Classics - April 30th, 2003

This books is as unrelenting as the abuse endured within its pages. Its equal parts Shirley Jackson, Charles Dickens and Angela Carter. This beautifully written suburban gothic is cut through with shards of magical realism and propped up by the sympathetic voice of the protagonist. It surveys the laborious nature of trauma and the dissociation required to cope.


Review by Dean

Staff Pick Badge
All of Us with Wings Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781641291354
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Soho Teen - July 7th, 2020

Is it fate that intertwines 17-yr-old Xochi and 12-yr-old Pallas, or is it simply kindred spirit? On the night of the Autumn Equinox, they cast a playful spell and summon two eerie, green forest children - "Water Babies" in Native American lore - but these creatures do more than cause vivid dreams. Told from multiple POV's (including a bookstore cat!) with interludes in verse and oral storytelling, Keil's debut is a lush, magical novel of first loves and found family. 

A delightfully dark "New Adult" read for fans of Francesca Lia Block, Sherman Alexie, and Hayao Miyazaki. 


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
Tears of the Trufflepig: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780374538330
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: MCD x FSG Originals - May 14th, 2019

If Haruki Murikami had been born in Mexico and raised in southern Texas, this is the book he would have written. It's futuristic and hallucinogenic look at that region gives us a unique and welcome lens to view the border. 


Review by Robert

Pages