Search form

Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
A Lesson in Vengeance Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593305829
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Delacorte Press - August 3rd, 2021

Dark academia and murder and witches, oh my! Felicity Morrow feels ready to return to school after a tragic accident, but when she finds herself tangled up with the elusive teen prodigy Ellis Haley, Felicity will have to face the darkest parts of herself before moving on. Between the atmospheric setting and gorgeous writing, I couldn't put this book down. Part fantasy, part thriller, A Lesson in Vengeance is guaranteed to lure you in and keep you entranced.


Review by Caroline

Staff Pick Badge
The Sisters of Straygarden Place Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781536212273
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Candlewick - October 13th, 2020

Perhaps the most perfect creepy book for middle schoolers that I have ever read. Sisters Winnow, Mayhap, and Pavonine live in the strange, otherworldly Straygarden Place surrounded by tall, interminable, antagonistic grass. When eldest Winnow abruptly leaves the security of the house, she returns with an acute delirium and begins to turn the same sickening silver as the grass itself. Chewins writes Mayhap's increasing paranoia and the growing sentience of Straygarden Place with such easy, vivid poetry that readers will find themselves utterly transported into this twisty, turny, and unpredictable tale. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Badge
Six Crimson Cranes Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593300916
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - July 6th, 2021

East-Asian folklore meets the Grimms' "The Six Swans" in this gorgeous reimagining set in the world of Spin the Dawn.

Exiled and enchanted for magic she can't help but possess, Princess Shiori must find a way to save her brothers and her kingdom - all with the help of a shapeshifting dragon and the boy she was once supposed to marry.

Vivid and rich, Lim expertly weaves together familiar tales and folklore in such new and exciting ways, allowing for mystery and discovery in the stories we thought we knew so well.


Review by Sarah B.

Staff Pick Badge
Bloody Rose (The Band) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316362535
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Orbit - August 28th, 2018

Not only one of the funnest series I've read in a while, but also some of the best world building and deeply thought out characters. I was just in a "fun adventures with my bros" mood when I picked these up, I had no idea how smart and caring the writing would turn out to be.

Insanely funny, full of heart, incredible creatures, bitchin' swords, sick ass magic, and he even mentions periods.


Review by Anje

Staff Pick Badge
The Tangleroot Palace: Stories Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781616963521
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Tachyon Publications - June 15th, 2021

A collection of short stories from the Eisner award-winning creator of Monstress that will satisfy any fantasy reader. One story is eerie and twisted; another is apocalyptic and horrific; yet another is a fairytale retold, queer and tender; and in the eponymous tale is a princess who flees home to save herself. Liu is obsessed with dense magical forests and the precarity of life: how do we live and how do we love when survival is an ever-present demand? 

 


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
Kings of the Wyld (The Band) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316362474
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Orbit - February 21st, 2017

This book was a blast, like being part of a D&D campaign if it were co-DM'd by the author Lish McBride and Ben Affleck's character from the movie "Extract".

It's just good.


Review by Anje

Staff Pick Badge
The Nature of Witches Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781728229423
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Sourcebooks Fire - June 1st, 2021

A compelling and engaging debut novel from local author Rachel Griffin. The blend of witch magic, weather, and climate change makes for a fresh and nuanced low fantasy. The tender romance between Clara and Sang made my heart ache.

The buzz you've been hearing? Earned.


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
The Girl Who Stole an Elephant Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781682632857
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Peachtree Publishing Company - March 1st, 2021

This story has all the makings of a classic folktale: fierce friendships, non-stop action, and short, cliff-hanger chapters to keep you right on the edge of your seat!  Chaya is a thief with a heart for justice and she's on the run from the king. She's not only trying to avoid capture, but to survive the unknown jungle alongside her two unlikely companions. It's a story that feels timeless and fresh all at once. And whether it's your next read or your next read-aloud, lower elementary readers are in for a treat!


Review by Claire

Staff Pick Badge
The Accidental Apprentice (Wilderlore #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534477568
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - March 30th, 2021

Adventure is the last thing Barclay wants, and he's sure he won't find any apprenticed to a mushroom farmer. An accidental trip to the woods flings him into a hidden world of magic, Beasts, Beast collectors, and all the adventure he thought he didn't want.

Barclay's world is quirky and weird, and I'm so jealous I can't wander into the woods, bond with a Beast, and gain magical powers, too! Perfect for fans of Pokemon and How To Train Your Dragon!


Review by Sarah B.

Staff Pick Badge
The Boatman's Daughter: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780374538552
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: MCD x FSG Originals - February 11th, 2020

This crime-horror-fantasy is set in the dark swamps of Arkansas, where evil men and an ancient creature are restless with their own dangerous desires. Miranda Crabtree, a quiet and haunted ferrywoman for a ruthless cartel, keeps her head down and avoids colliding with anyone outside of her secret found family. But when an unexpected package is delivered to her boat, a series of events are set off over the course of 48 hours, including but not limited to Slavic bathhouse demons, squished eyeballs, and vengeful house spirits.


Review by Sarah C.

Pages