Search form

Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
Blacktop Wasteland: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250252685
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 3-10 days
Published: Flatiron Books - July 14th, 2020

Blacktop Wasteland bolts out of the gate with a first chapter that is propulsive and unrelenting. Beauregard "Bug" Montage is a getaway driver, who has been trying to get out of the life, but overwhelming debts pull him back in. Cosby has raced to the top of the list of thriller writers to watch with this novel. Besides being a top notch crime novel, Blacktop Wasteland also weaves in issues of race and poverty without feeling preachy. You could wait for the paperback, but I wouldn't advise it.


Review by Mark B.

Staff Pick Badge
The Boatman's Daughter: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780374538552
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: MCD x FSG Originals - February 11th, 2020

This crime-horror-fantasy is set in the dark swamps of Arkansas, where evil men and an ancient creature are restless with their own dangerous desires. Miranda Crabtree, a quiet and haunted ferrywoman for a ruthless cartel, keeps her head down and avoids colliding with anyone outside of her secret found family. But when an unexpected package is delivered to her boat, a series of events are set off over the course of 48 hours, including but not limited to Slavic bathhouse demons, squished eyeballs, and vengeful house spirits.


Review by Sarah C.

Staff Pick Badge
The Lost Village: A Novel Cover Image
By Camilla Sten, Alexandra Fleming (Translated by)
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250249258
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Minotaur Books - March 23rd, 2021

In the hot summer of 1959, all but two of the 800 inhabitants of the remote mining town of Silvertjarn, Sweden disappeared without a trace.  Only a crying newborn and the village outcast, stoned to death in the square, remained.  Now documentary filmmaker Alice and her crew of frenemies, several with ties to the region, have come to investigate.  But the evil that occupied Silvertjarn sixty years ago has not faded with time.  A spooky, atmospheric Nordic thriller that will keep you turning the pages!


Review by Deborah

Staff Pick Badge
The Windsor Knot: A Novel (Her Majesty the Queen Investigates #1) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063050006
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: William Morrow - March 9th, 2021

An absolutely delightful read for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Alan Bradley, where Queen Elizabeth must step in to solve a mysterious death at Windsor Castle when England's top investigators have failed.  On the eve of the Queen's 90th birthday celebration, the Castle is full of guests, including a dashing young Russian pianist found dead in his guest room.  Is it an accident, suicide, a jealous husband or Putin's secret agents?  Only Her Majesty can solve this puzzling case!


Review by Deborah

Staff Pick Badge
The Nightworkers: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374222017
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: MCD - October 6th, 2020

Dark without being broody, poignant without being trite, and delightfully snappy in all the right places, this novel about a small-time Brooklyn crime family grappling with the costs of their actions - and their loyalties - is a sharp and satisfying read. 



Staff Pick Badge
Deacon King Kong: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780735216723
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 3-10 days
Published: Riverhead Books - March 3rd, 2020

It's September, 1969, int he Brooklyn projects, The Cause, where poverty consumes the residents and rarely spits them out. Five Ends Baptist Church is a strong force within this community. One of its deacons, a kindhearted by drunken 71 year-old known as Sportcoat, shoots a young drug dealer in broad daylight before many witnesses. Stumbling off toward the rest of his day, Sportcoat eludes the law and claims not to remember a thing about shooting Deems. From this point on the spicy dialogues swirl before the reader, as people react to this unexpected act of violence. Sportcoat's reputation weighs in heavily, making clear the loyalty that poverty generates. McBride's brilliant portrait of these connected souls underline the power of words!



Staff Pick Badge
The Late Show Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781455524228
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Grand Central Publishing - August 7th, 2018

Michael Connelly strikes again. This time with a new character, one that I hope to see more of. She is Renee Ballard, a fierce, complicated police detective who has been relegated to the night shift after a sexual harassment charge she brought against a superior has been thrown out. As I said, Renee is a complicated woman with lots of baggage, who finds solace in extreme paddle boarding and her beloved dog. This is a great ride and it is gratifying to see that Connelly retains his excellent chops.