Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
The Prone Gunman (City Lights Noir) By Jean-Patrick Manchette, James Brook (Translator) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780872864023
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: City Lights Books - June 1st, 2002

A fast-paced, action-packed, 1970s crime thriller from France. From the clothing to the cars to the architecture, it’s every bit as cool as you want it to be.

 


Review by Connor

Staff Pick Badge
Night Boat to Tangier By Kevin Barry Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101911341
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Anchor - July 7th, 2020

Kevin Barry's gritty, painful night in the ferry terminal of Algeciras, Spain with two aging drug runners takes you on an intense journey without leaving the terminal bar. As Charlie and Maurice watch passengers from Morocco unload, hoping to cross paths with a long lost daughter, Barry offers aching glimpses into decades of relationships, regrets and remorse. Barry's writing is tight and honest - as glaring as the ferry terminal lights on the dirty terminal floor. 



Staff Pick Badge
Portrait of a Thief: A Novel By Grace D. Li Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593186060
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Tiny Reparations Books - April 4th, 2023

Think Oceans 11 meets The Fast and the Furious. Super fun heist novel with a stacked cast of characters. There is a really good twist too! 


Review by Rosa

Staff Pick Badge
The Boatman's Daughter: A Novel By Andy Davidson Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780374538552
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: MCD x FSG Originals - February 11th, 2020

This crime-horror-fantasy is set in the dark swamps of Arkansas, where evil men and an ancient creature are restless with their own dangerous desires. Miranda Crabtree, a quiet and haunted ferrywoman for a ruthless cartel, keeps her head down and avoids colliding with anyone outside of her secret found family. But when an unexpected package is delivered to her boat, a series of events are set off over the course of 48 hours, including but not limited to Slavic bathhouse demons, squished eyeballs, and vengeful house spirits.


Review by Sarah C.

Staff Pick Badge
The Lost Village: A Novel By Camilla Sten, Alexandra Fleming (Translated by) Cover Image
By Camilla Sten, Alexandra Fleming (Translated by)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250803290
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Minotaur Books - February 22nd, 2022

In the hot summer of 1959, all but two of the 800 inhabitants of the remote mining town of Silvertjarn, Sweden disappeared without a trace.  Only a crying newborn and the village outcast, stoned to death in the square, remained.  Now documentary filmmaker Alice and her crew of frenemies, several with ties to the region, have come to investigate.  But the evil that occupied Silvertjarn sixty years ago has not faded with time.  A spooky, atmospheric Nordic thriller that will keep you turning the pages!


Review by Deborah

Staff Pick Badge
The Windsor Knot: A Novel (Her Majesty the Queen Investigates #1) By SJ Bennett Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063050013
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - February 8th, 2022

An absolutely delightful read for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Alan Bradley, where Queen Elizabeth must step in to solve a mysterious death at Windsor Castle when England's top investigators have failed.  On the eve of the Queen's 90th birthday celebration, the Castle is full of guests, including a dashing young Russian pianist found dead in his guest room.  Is it an accident, suicide, a jealous husband or Putin's secret agents?  Only Her Majesty can solve this puzzling case!


Review by Deborah