Staff Pick Badge
For All Time Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534485976
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - September 28th, 2021

WOW! This blew my mind. This story is so unexpected, I literally didn't know what was going to happen until it did. If you crave conceptual time travel narratives along the lines of This is How You Lose the Time War, please, please, read For All Time.
Tamar and Fayard suddenly begin having strange dreams and visions, set in different centuries and places. It's as if they spent other lives meeting and falling in love, as if their souls seek each other in every era and continent. But it couldn't possibly be real because Tamar is really sick and Fayard should be figuring out college. 

There's so much to this story and I wish I could tell you more, but then I'd spoil it for you.


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
Other People's Comfort Keeps Me Up At Night Cover Image
By Morgan Parker, Danez Smith (Introduction by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781951142568
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Tin House Books - July 13th, 2021

Other People's Comfort Keeps Me Up at Night kept me up at night! in a good way! because I had to finish it in one sitting! This is a reissue of her first poetry collection printed from the Portland small press, Tin House. Parker's words dance amidst pain and reality television, Gwendolyn Brooks and Jay-Z. My favorite: "The World Is Beautiful but You Are Not in It" 

 


Review by Emily

Staff Pick Badge
Filthy Animals Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525538912
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Riverhead Books - June 22nd, 2021

Brandon Taylor is fast becoming one of my favorite writers. I will read anything he puts out. This collection on interconnecting stories will stay with you for a long time. A true gem in the literary world. 


Review by Rosa

Staff Pick Badge
Somebody's Daughter: A Memoir Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250305978
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Flatiron Books: An Oprah Book - June 1st, 2021

Powerful, honest, and sharp. Ford tells her story on her terms, refusing to compromise or shy away from how the absence of her incarcerated father and tense relationship with her mother defined her formative years. Her work is a gift that allows us to glimpse her fraught journey through hardship and loss towards love and self-acceptance. Simply beautiful.


Review by Kelly

Staff Pick Badge
Black Buck Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780358380887
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Mariner Books - January 5th, 2021

No wonder our black salesman that breaks the fourth wall has been widely likened to Sorry to Bother You and The Wolf of Wall Street what with Askaripour's regimen of two hours of movie trailers and music videos before writing. A very well-balanced satire that makes you laugh and cringe at our very own world he holds a mirror to. A very hard one to put down!


Review by Emily

Staff Pick Badge
A Master of Djinn (Dead Djinn Universe #1) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250267689
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Tordotcom - May 11th, 2021

Thank you, P. Djeli Clark, for writing this Victorian Egyptian steampunk novel just for me!  "A Master of Djinn" melds the mysterious adventures of Elizabeth Peters' Amelia Peabody archaeological mysteries with the snarky steampunk vibe of Gail Carriger's Parasol Protectorate series.  Along with a dash of the inclusive romance that I've been devouring lately and a cast of multicultural characters, the result is the most entertaining book I've read this year from the most original voice I could hope to find.


Review by Deborah

Staff Pick Badge
Mediocre: The Dangerous Legacy of White Male America Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781580059510
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Seal Press - December 1st, 2020

Mediocre is anything but mediocre. Oluo lays out how we have perpetuated white supremacy and racism by celebrating the simple mediocrity of white maleness. With a seat at the table, she elbows room for other women and people of color, the biggest victims of this mediocrity, and unpacks the dangers of societal expectations. Well-researched and still accessible, this book will make you really angry but in a good way. 


Review by Emily

Staff Pick Badge
The Tradition Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781556594861
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Copper Canyon Press - April 2nd, 2019

There's a reason why he won the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry in 2020! These poems are lovely and devastating. Beautiful and heartbreaking, of course, with titles like "Bullet Points" as a black man in America and lines like "I love a man I know I could die" as an openly gay, HIV-positive man. Read this if you want something solid and good.


Review by Emily

Staff Pick Badge
Chlorine Sky Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593176399
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 12th, 2021

I'm a sucker for a novel in verse! For fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Jacqueline Woodson, Mahogany L. Browne writes the story of a teenage girl just trying to play basketball without getting too cold in her best friend's shadow. Her words bite but her voice is delicate, letting me relish in that dichotomy of girlhood. Chlorine Sky feels like the chemicals from the community pool and the sun setting orange, your fingers are pruny but it's just so beautiful. Five more minutes


Review by Emily

Staff Pick Badge
Brown Girl Dreaming Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780147515827
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - October 11th, 2016

A perfect example of a book for children and adults alike; give this to everyone you know! Woodson writes in verse, beautifully combining prose and poetry, to tell the autobiographical story of a brown girl coming of age at the tailend of Jim Crow. She grapples with identity and the idea of home, growing up in South Carolina and New York, while still trying to be a kid with dreams of becoming a writer. It's powerful, it's beautiful, it's no wonder it was a Newbery Award nominee.


Review by Emily

Pages