Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
A Psalm for the Wild-Built (Monk & Robot #1) Cover Image
$20.99
ISBN: 9781250236210
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Tordotcom - July 13th, 2021

There is so much warmth, hope, and humanity between the covers of this book. Make yourself a cup of tea and settle in.

 


Review by Sarah R.

Staff Pick Badge
Six Seasons: A New Way with Vegetables Cover Image
$40.00
ISBN: 9781579656317
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Artisan - May 2nd, 2017

Worth every cent. Learn to love your local Farmers Markets (we have quite a few in Seattle, including one right outside our door every Sunday at Lake Forest Park from May through October). Find what's in season, and make some of the best beets of your life. While not a 100% plant-based cookbook, Oregon restaurateur Joshua McFadden will fundamentally change the way you cook with vegetables.


Review by Spencer R.

Staff Pick Badge
Cannelle et Vanille Bakes Simple: A New Way to Bake Gluten-Free Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781632173706
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Sasquatch Books - October 26th, 2021

There's no better bible for Gluten-Free baking. Seattle's own Aran Goyoaga is a not-so-hidden treasure for those with Celiac, and her books make a perfect gift for your allergy-conscious baker. This new baking companion to Aran's 2019 cookbook Canelle et Vanille covers breads, classic holiday recipes, pies, unbelievable tarts, and more.


Review by Spencer R.

Staff Pick Badge
The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastards #1) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780553588941
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Del Rey - June 26th, 2007

I can't believe this has been out since 2006 and I haven't read it until NOW. This is about a group of scrappy orphans living in the island city of Camorr (roughly based on 1700's Venice, but you know, with mysterious alien architecture left behind that nobody knows the history of, and alchemy, lots of alchemy)  who, through luck and happenstance, are plucked off the streets and then trained up into an elite team of thieves so that they can rob the rich and... continue robbing the rich. There are HEISTS, there are FRAUDS, there are WOMEN GLADIATORS WHO FIGHT SHARKS WITH HATCHETS WHILE STANDING ON TINY PLATFORMS IN THE WATER.


Review by Anje

Staff Pick Badge
Samuel Johnson's Eternal Return Cover Image
$16.95
Unavailable at this time.
ISBN: 9781566895286
Published: Coffee House Press - October 9th, 2018

One of my favorite hidden gems. Martin Riker—the co-publisher of Dorothy, A Publishing Project—pens a novel that spans decades of life both remarkable and comically dull. After Samuel Johnson dies, he finds himself in a liminal state, his soul jumping from body to living body in earthbound purgatory, in search of his son and the meaning behind our quiet lives.


Review by Spencer R.

Staff Pick Badge
Let's Make Dumplings!: A Comic Book Cookbook Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781984858757
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Ten Speed Press - June 22nd, 2021

This is a super user-friendly cookbook, but more importantly to me - it's got a user-friendly recipe for xiao long bao. That's right baby, we're talking about dumplings filled with soup. The warmest, coziest, savoriest, most wholesome meal I can fathom. I defy you to make a cozier dish than this.

 


Review by Anje

Staff Pick Badge
The Things We've Seen Cover Image
$21.95
ISBN: 9781913097301
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Fitzcarraldo Editions - August 3rd, 2021

Agustín Fernández Mallo's magnum opus is a monstrous book that reaches out and touches everything—love and sentimentalism, war, our pitiful human intelligence, moon landings, physics and dead stars, car chases, Facebook, rooftop tomato gardens—yet is somehow still accessible in Thomas Bunstead's elegant translation. You can't walk away from this novel without feeling brutally changed. There are one-liners that will digest you whole. After 600 pages, you'll realize you've been standing next to a mountain. For readers of W.G. Sebald and Daša Drndić.


Review by Spencer R.

Staff Pick Badge
The Tsar of Love and Techno: Stories Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780770436452
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Hogarth - July 19th, 2016

Upon finishing this book I wept inconsolably. Marra has woven together this collection of short stories into a tender and heart-wrenching story that has an irrevocably haunting (in the best way) impact on me. 


Review by Lily

Staff Pick Badge
Every Heart a Doorway (Wayward Children #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780765385505
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Tordotcom - April 5th, 2016

The Wayward Children series is dark, gruesome, twisty, fourth-wall-breaking magical fun. And it's easily my new favorite portal magic series. I usually can't stomach anything gruesome--however, reimagined fairy tales are my trope kryptonite. The prose is so crisp. The world building is creative, clever, and cruel. Strangely, this book is the evil mirror twin of TJ Klune's House in the Cerulean Sea: the children of the story are exactly as eager to find their own safe harbors, all those places known as "home".

 


Review by Danielle

Harrow the Ninth (The Locked Tomb Series #2) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250313218
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Tordotcom - September 21st, 2021

Tamsyn Muir has an uncanny ability to write sci-fi / fantasy that is both gut wrenchingly funny and just masterfully, painstakingly plotted. If you're into big picture sci-fi like Dune or Saga but also have an appreciation for eldritch monsters and body horror à la Resident Evil, please treat yourself to this incredible series.


Review by Anje

Pages