Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
The Windsor Knot: A Novel (Her Majesty the Queen Investigates #1) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063050006
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: William Morrow - March 9th, 2021

An absolutely delightful read for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Alan Bradley, where Queen Elizabeth must step in to solve a mysterious death at Windsor Castle when England's top investigators have failed.  On the eve of the Queen's 90th birthday celebration, the Castle is full of guests, including a dashing young Russian pianist found dead in his guest room.  Is it an accident, suicide, a jealous husband or Putin's secret agents?  Only Her Majesty can solve this puzzling case!


Review by Deborah

Staff Pick Badge
Winter's Orbit Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250758835
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Tor Books - February 2nd, 2021

A delightful queer romance with a fun sci. fi. setting. There's a nice balance between cute relationship moments and unraveling an interplanetary mystery full of political intrigue. I listened to the audiobook on Libro.fm and it was top notch.

If you want something that will pull you in and be a great time, pick this one up, you'll thank me later.

P.S. Your heart is NOT ready for Prince Kiem and Count Jainan <3 <3


Review by Nicole

Staff Pick Badge
Christian Apologetics Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780875525112
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: P & R Publishing - January 10th, 2003

Each of us has 5 senses and a 3-pound brain. This is our only fundamental, basic equiptment for discovering, evaluating or knowing anything. At least, this is the position of the atheist-materialist. Yet how do we know our equiptment is adequate or even functioning properly? Ultimately, the best we can say is: my equiptment works because my equiptment tells me this is true. Circular reasoning! Well, Van Til is your best guide to this crisis - the problem of presuppositions, of our essential dependency and creaturliness - in view of Christianity.  This book is often abstract but also accessible, and when read as intended it may have the effect of the Book of Psalms, the effect of doxology.


Review by Adam

Staff Pick Badge
Movies (And Other Things) Cover Image
By Shea Serrano, Arturo Torres (Illustrator)
$25.00
ISBN: 9781538730195
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Twelve - October 8th, 2019

Perfect for those humor fans or non-pretentious movie buffs that want to weigh in on what other movie characters would be in Regina George's clique or who got it the worst in Kill Bill? Paired with Torres' fantastic illustrations, Serrano writes lovingly and analytically about movies from the 1980s to today with opinions that toggle between silly and serious. Because really which movie villain would make the best hang and how culturally significant was 1997's Selena? This is a great book to escape into with the kind of author that wouldn't leave you bored at a party.


Review by Emily

Staff Pick Badge
Mediocre: The Dangerous Legacy of White Male America Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781580059510
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Seal Press - December 1st, 2020

Mediocre is anything but mediocre. Oluo lays out how we have perpetuated white supremacy and racism by celebrating the simple mediocrity of white maleness. With a seat at the table, she elbows room for other women and people of color, the biggest victims of this mediocrity, and unpacks the dangers of societal expectations. Well-researched and still accessible, this book will make you really angry but in a good way. 


Review by Emily

Staff Pick Badge
Nobody's Normal: How Culture Created the Stigma of Mental Illness Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780393531640
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - January 26th, 2021

A fascinating history of the cultural stigma of mental illness that simultaneously provides a history of psychiatry, psychology and the creation of the DSM, among other things. While reading this book I constantly had the urge to turn to the person next to me and exclaim, "Wow! Listen to this!" Grinker provides a detailed global history of mental illness and how various cultures have dealt with it. From the creation of asylums to the employment of autistic individuals, Grinker has authored an empathetic overview of his subject with much to mull over as we become more accepting of those that may be different from ourselves. We're all on the spectrum!


Review by Mark B.

Staff Pick Badge
The Tea Dragon Society Cover Image
By K. O'Neill, K. O'Neill (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781620107379
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Oni Press - June 16th, 2020

Everything about this delightful little book is perfect. From the art, the colors, the world and the characters that inhabit it. From page 1, you are welcomed with big, open friendly arms. You feel so immersed in the story, you start to notice the slight scent of tea brewing. It is packed with messages, telling us to pursue our passions and take care of ourselves and others. Highly, highly recommend.


Review by Javi

Staff Pick Badge
Kink: Stories Cover Image
By R.O. Kwon (Editor), Garth Greenwell (Editor)
$17.00
ISBN: 9781982110215
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Simon & Schuster - February 9th, 2021

Almost every story in this collection was fantastic! All your faves are in this collection and I promise you, you will find something within that will resonate with you. 

Kudos to the two editors who put this collection together! Could not put it down.


Review by Rosa

Staff Pick Badge
Milk Blood Heat Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780802158154
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Grove Press - February 2nd, 2021

A debut collection of short stories that hits hard and close to home. Each of us exists somewhere in the raw, unavoidable reality of these stories. I saw my own pain on the page, but many other times felt wrenched with empathy for losses I've never experienced. Moniz's prose is lyrical and flowing while acutely pinpointing the ways that grief, numbness, violence, and desire manifest in our minds and our bodies. Although the stories do not always give closure, this stunning look into the diverse, ordinary lives of Floridian families is not one to miss. 


Review by Jessie

Staff Pick Badge
We Run the Tides: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062936233
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Ecco - February 9th, 2021

Vendela Vida makes the posh suburbs of 1980s San Francisco so oddly familiar and relatable in this wonderful coming-of-age novel about a couple of 13 year old girls, the eccentric Eulabee and her best friend, the decorous Maria Fabiola. Childhood friendships are full of love and laughter but at the same time messy and confusing, Vida perfectly captures the complexities of these formative years in a refreshing and authentic way. 


Review by Kalani

Pages