Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
The Poet X Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062662804
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days
Published: Quill Tree Books - March 6th, 2018

A bright, shining lighthouse of a book. At turns tender and ferocious, this is a book that you hand to those struggling to find and express their voice. Acevedo's debut verse novel powerfully asserts the humming, electric, life-altering potential of poetry and literature. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Badge
Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250170972
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - March 6th, 2018

The best fantasy I have read in ages. Achingly masterful and brimming with complexly rendered main and secondary characters, Adeyemi's Orisha world will sweep you up in its embrace with one arm and brandish a knife at you with the other. Paced perfectly at un-put-downable, this is your 2018 must-read.


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Badge
If You Come Softly: Twentieth Anniversary Edition Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525515487
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - March 6th, 2018

This is one of my favorite "I-WANT-TO-CRY-FOREVER" books, and has some of the most finely wrought star-crossed lovers in YA. That is still the true today - 20 YEARS after it came out. An instant classic that still feels fresh - and certainly feels timely.


Review by Kitri

Staff Pick Badge
Brave Chef Brianna Cover Image
By Sam Sykes, Selina Espiritu (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781684150502
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: KaBOOM! - December 12th, 2017

To inherit her father's massively successful culinary empire, Brianna must compete against her 15 brothers to run the best, most profitable restaurant. She sets up shop in the affordable and idiosyncratic Monster City, and, despite their strict dietary guidelines and Brianna's bouts of self-doubt and anxiety, her business booms. A competitor dislikes this newcomer, however, and Brianna must find a way to earn the respect of her community and her family without boiling over. Recipes included!!!


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Badge
Misfit City Vol. 1 Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781684150274
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: BOOM! Box - December 19th, 2017

This volume tracks a kickbutt girl squad as they hunt down treasure Goonies-style in a hazy, gray seaport town in Oregon.

C'mon - what more do you really need to crack this sucker open?

(vol 2 comes out in late May 2018!!!)


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Badge
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781524738297
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days
Published: Philomel Books - October 10th, 2017

Ambition always has a price - and if you're Xifeng, who's heard over and over from her aunt's dark fortunetelling cards that one day, her incredible beauty will lead her to become Empress, you aren't sure it's a price you want to pay. So with her boyfriend Wei, she runs away from her fear and her aunt's cruelties towards the capital city. She's smart, determined, and to her surprise, she has a knack for getting ahead when others fail. But something inhuman, magical, and very, very old begins to whisper in Xifeng's ear. How far can she rise? And sacrifice - does she have to be the one to make it? Or...can someone else take her place? Julie Dao's book is a must-read for fans of Kendare Blake, Marie Lu, and Laini Taylor.


Review by Christina

Staff Pick Badge
M.F.K. Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781683830047
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days
Published: Insight Comics - September 26th, 2017

Kickbutt protagonist Abbie has superpowers that get her in trouble wherever she goes, but she's trying to return her mother's ashes to her homeland. Magruder's art style shifts seamlessly from lush and expansive to quirky and expressive as she respectively focuses on world- and character-building. For fans of Marjorie Liu, Faith Erin Hicks, and those who wish Cece Bell's El Deafo was set in a dystopian desert wasteland. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Badge
American Street Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062473042
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days
Published: Balzer + Bray - February 14th, 2017

Fabiola arrives in Detroit after her mother is detained on entry to the U.S. from Haiti. Fabiola knows that her new home with her aunt and teenage cousins will always feel empty without her mother, so she resolves to do everything in her power to get her mother released - even if that means confronting harsh truths about her Americanized aunt and cousins. Equal parts heart-wrenching and - warming, Zoboi's expertly woven novel will touch readers' souls and embolden their spirits. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Badge
Truly Devious: A Mystery Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780062338068
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - December 4th, 2018

The first in a trilogy of mysteries featuring Stevie Bell, the crime fanatic and new student at a quirky, yet prestigious New England boarding school. Without telling you everything that is on the inside flap, let me just say this book is dark, gripping, funny - and will leave you howling for the next one. I loved it.


Review by Kitri

Staff Pick Badge
Meet Cute Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781328759870
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - January 2nd, 2018

This short story collection celebrates the chance encounters and first connections that teens invariably make in their romantic lives. The stories are diverse in genre and perspective, and flutter with balanced doses of hope and heartbreak. Read somewhere cozy with a cup of something warm and sweet. 


Review by Niki

Pages