Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
The Thief (Queen's Thief #1) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062642967
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Greenwillow Books - February 28th, 2017

When I was in high school my dear friend Heather put this book in my hands, smiled mysteriously, and said, "Trust me." 

I devoured it in one sitting.

It is intricate, clever, and excruciatingly satisying. Pay close attention - Megan Whalen Turner is as tricky as her theif and you don't want to miss a thing!

This book came out in 1995. The final book in the series comes out next year. Now is the time folks - trust me.


Review by Allie

Staff Pick Badge
Wilder Girls Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525645580
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Delacorte Press - July 9th, 2019

"We call it the Tox, and for the first few months, they tried to make it a lesson."

The girls at Raxter Boarding School are infected. On an island, quarentined from the rest of the world, Hetty waits it out with her classmates believing and hoping that a cure will finally come. But when her best friend Byatt goes missing, Hetty strikes out into the forbidden woods to rescue her. Wilder Girls is part horror, part sci-fi, and all femme. Hetty's voice was strong and led me through every heart break and victory. I'm still with these characters and I can't wait to see what Rory Powers does next.


Review by Halley

Staff Pick Badge
Crier's War Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062823946
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: HarperTeen - October 1st, 2019

A love that could spark a war. Two girls - ore made, royalty; one human, her servant. A rebellion is brewing, forbidden love is blooming, and Ayla and Crier are at the center of it all...

Crier's War is a slow burn, Queer, enemies-to-lovers YA fantasy romance, and YES it is as good as it sounds! I couldn't put it down, I loved every bit of it. ❤️


Review by Gabi

Staff Pick Badge
The Last True Poets of the Sea Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781368048088
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Disney-Hyperion - October 1st, 2019

I wanted to hug these characters and never let go; live out my life on these salty shores, in the tiny shops; claim the metaphors as my own, never thinking of happy moments as anything other than pebbles on my own beach.  Julia Drake expertly captures the precious and painful experiences of family, friendship, and love in a net of small town lore, diverse journeys toward mental health, and some of the most beautifully poetic lines I've ever read. Simply put, The Last True Poets of the Sea made me ache for an understanding I didn’t know I needed.


Review by Katelynn

Staff Pick Badge
The Last True Poets of the Sea Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781368048088
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Disney-Hyperion - October 1st, 2019

I can’t remember the last book I’ve been absolutely glued to like this one. There was a moment where I had to get up and start pacing the room as I was reading because my love for these characters quite literally affected my mind, body, & soul. It’s ultimately a story about survival; one that cuts deep while healing you at the same time. Quite simply, this book is “swoon” incarnate.


Review by Claire

Staff Pick Badge
Skip Cover Image
$22.95
ISBN: 9781910620427
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Nobrow - July 23rd, 2019

The visuals of this graphic novel are an experience in and of themselves. Before reading Skip I never had the sensation of tasting color. The only thing I can liken it to are the intense feelings that come over me when viewing the art of Vincent Van Gogh. In addition to stunning visuals, the story is absolutely beautiful, and reading through it made me feel like a leaf floating on a river: fast and slow, gentle and crushing. 


Review by Ashley

Staff Pick Badge
Hope and Other Punch Lines Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781524766771
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Delacorte Press - May 7th, 2019

Summer camp counselors, awkward & sweet friendship turned to romance, alternating perspectives, laugh out loud humor, AND unputdownable pacing - um, yes please!


Review by Claire

Staff Pick Badge
Tell Me How You Really Feel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250299482
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Feiwel & Friends - June 11th, 2019

This YA novel is essentially Rory-and-Paris fanfic, if Rory was Persian and Paris was Jewish-Mexican. Oh, and if they were lesbians with secret crushes on one another. It's everything you wanted that Netflix's last season of Gilmore Girls didn't deliver.

 

Rachel and Sana hate each other. When a chance blunder at school forces a collaboration in Rachel's senior film, neither girl trusts the other to get it right. And, as much as she is loathe to agree with her film adviser, Rachel knows Sana is perfectly cast as her Helen of Troy. Soon, the prim cheerleader is narrating the Greek epic and demanding other changes. With only 30 days left to meet academic deadlines, Rachel needs the film to be perfect to clinch her spot at NYU... and Sana needs a distraction as she runs down the clock on mailing her deposit to Princeton. The sweetest romance could bloom between them if they cast aside fear and their prep school personas. 


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
All of Us with Wings Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781641290340
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Soho Teen - June 18th, 2019

Is it fate that intertwines 17-yr-old Xochi and 12-yr-old Pallas, or is it simply kindred spirit? On the night of the Autumn Equinox, they cast a playful spell and summon two eerie, green forest children - "Water Babies" in Native American lore - but these creatures do more than cause vivid dreams. Told from multiple POV's (including a bookstore cat!) with interludes in verse and oral storytelling, Keil's debut is a lush, magical novel of first loves and found family. 

 

A delightfully dark "New Adult" read for fans of Francesca Lia Block, Sherman Alexie, and Hayao Miyazaki. 


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
Dig Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781101994917
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - March 26th, 2019

I wanted to leap from my chair several times while reading this book because it is so good that it felt disrespectful to read it sitting down.

There is not another book like this on the planet, but there should be. I can promise you that I will be talking about this book until the day I die.


Review by Claire

Pages