Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
All of Us with Wings Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781641290340
Availability: Coming soon - available for pre-order now
Published: Soho Teen - June 18th, 2019

Is it fate that intertwines 17-yr-old Xochi and 12-yr-old Pallas, or is it simply kindred spirit? On the night of the Autumn Equinox, they cast a playful spell and summon two eerie, green forest children - "Water Babies" in Native American lore - but these creatures do more than cause vivid dreams. Told from multiple POV's (including a bookstore cat!) with interludes in verse and oral storytelling, Keil's debut is a lush, magical novel of first loves and found family. 

 

A delightfully dark "New Adult" read for fans of Francesca Lia Block, Sherman Alexie, and Hayao Miyazaki. 


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
Dig Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781101994917
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - March 26th, 2019

I wanted to leap from my chair several times while reading this book because it is so good that it felt disrespectful to read it sitting down.

 

There is not another book like this on the planet, but there should be. I can promise you that I will be talking about this book until the day I die.


Review by Claire

Staff Pick Badge
Creature Tech (New Edition) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781534309180
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Image Comics - January 15th, 2019

Relentless adventure, extreme weirdness, gorgeous and energetic art, a dash of low humor and gore, and reverence for Things Not Seen--’Creature Tech’ is bizarre and entertaining from first page to last. In a world of increasingly ‘transgressive’ comics, TenNapel is a true subversive: at heart, under everything, a gutsy and radical traditionalist. God bless Doug TenNapel


Review by Adam

Staff Pick Badge
The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525426455
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - March 26th, 2019

Unmoored by the loss of her first love, Poe Blythe has created deadly armor to protect the Outposts last dredge as it sets sail to pan for gold. Led by a man known only as The Admiral, Poe's grief and anger serves a purpose. But when her ship is attacked by drifters downriver, Poe's faith is tested. Why do the drifters hate the dredge?

Poe's survival depends on more than her engineering skills, but who can she trust?


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
A Winter's Promise: Book One of the Mirror Visitor Quartet Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781609454838
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Europa Editions - September 25th, 2018

I think I’ve been waiting all my life to find this book. Or, perhaps, I’ve just been waiting for it to find me. With any translated novel there's a kind of unnameable wonder. So, I don’t know if it’s just the beauty of the translation itself from its original French text or something else entirely, but I haven’t read a book this magically alive since Harry Potter. Think of all your expectations of what a fantasy novel can be and know that this novel will surpass every single one. Gah! So this is love.


Review by Claire

Staff Pick Badge
We Set the Dark on Fire Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062691316
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - February 26th, 2019

Latinx culture. Near-future fantasy island. Espionage and arranged marriage. Queer romance.

 

In short, a gripping feminist story with excellent stakes, world-building, and character development that ends in a cliff-hanger. Let's just say I need book two of this duology immediately.


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
A Short History of the Girl Next Door Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781524716103
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Ember - December 24th, 2018

I have now read this book twice and, with both readings, finished it in one sitting. This hilarious and heartbreaking novel will make you laugh out loud and then cry so much you'll go through an entire box of Kleenex (or, maybe that's just me). Anddddd that's all I'm going to tell you because I promise it's just one of those books that is best approached--like most worthwhile things in life--by taking a chance and letting the story lead you where it will.  


Review by Claire

Staff Pick Badge
Grave Mercy: His Fair Assassin, Book I Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781328567659
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - October 2nd, 2018

Trained by a convent of assassins under Death's employ, Ismae learns the many ways of anger management. Alternative history with fantastic costumes, intrigue, betrayal, and a satisfying conclusion (in that I proceeded to read the rest of the series right after). Excellent!


Review by Alex

Staff Pick Badge
Strange the Dreamer Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316341677
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 22nd, 2018

You won't want to miss a single sentence, word, not even one comma of this magical adventure. Goddesses, librarians, lost cities, adventures, fantastical dreams--have I convinced you yet? No? Well, then let me just add that this was hands down one of the most beautifully-written and imaginative books I've read in years (and, hold on to your hats folks, because the sequel is even better!). Now, what are you still doing here reading this review? Grab the book and start dreaming--I mean, reading!


Review by Claire

Staff Pick Badge
Five Feet Apart Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534437333
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - November 20th, 2018

Two teenagers with cystic fibrosis: they have a long list of DON'Ts but very few DOs. Stella sticks to her schedules and pins hope on a lung transplant. Will is ready to be 18, free of hospitals and his mother's race for a cure. An endearing and honest story of two teenagers learning there's more to living than simply surviving. 


Review by Danielle

Pages