Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
salt slow Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250224774
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Flatiron Books - October 8th, 2019

With the recent trend of short story collections exploring the darker parts of womanhood, it can be difficult to dedicate your time to one book out of all the overwhelming options. However, Armfield's descent into body horror, queer desire, and personal monstrosity stands out due to the delicious decay surrounding her prose. Perfect for fans of Daisy Johnson and Carmen Maria Machado. 


Review by Sarah C.

Staff Pick Badge
Crier's War Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062823946
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: HarperTeen - October 1st, 2019

A love that could spark a war. Two girls - ore made, royalty; one human, her servant. A rebellion is brewing, forbidden love is blooming, and Ayla and Crier are at the center of it all...

Crier's War is a slow burn, Queer, enemies-to-lovers YA fantasy romance, and YES it is as good as it sounds! I couldn't put it down, I loved every bit of it. ❤️


Review by Gabi

Staff Pick Badge
This Is How You Lose the Time War Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534431003
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - July 16th, 2019

This is a blossoming romance set among the rubble of incomprehensible destruction. This is not Doctor Who fan-fiction, nor is it the concrete, expository science fiction we're used to. This is for the dreamers who want to look through broken windows into another reality.


Review by Kitri