Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
Circus Mirandus Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780147515544
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Puffin Books - August 16th, 2016

Micah knows what all children know, what imagination and their hearts (and exceptional adults like Micah's grandpa) tell them: miracles and magic are real, they exist just out of sight, and if you look at just the right time you can find them.  And Micah is just the sort of person we all want to be. Though he isn't perfect (or even perfectly confident) he is determined, he won't let life give him No for an answer, and he has a couple of people in his life who care enough about him to help in risky-crazy ways.


Review by Adam

Staff Pick Badge
Other Words for Home Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062747808
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 3-10 days
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 28th, 2019

I've never seen a story like Jude's depicted in children's literature. At 12 years old, she and her mom leave Syria to live with her uncle in America. But once in America, they quickly understand they won't be treated like they belong. This America that promised an acceptance of people from different countries, is one that calls Jude a terrorist once she starts wearing a hijab. 

But through it all, Jude remains hopeful. From trying to make new friends, to trying out for her school's musical, she starts to learn that making a new home doesn't mean you have to forget the one you came from. This novel in verse is urgently relevant and not to be missed!


Review by Claire

Staff Pick Badge
The Poet's Dog Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9780062292643
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 4th, 2018

A moving story about life and death and what lives on. The Poet's Dog is Teddy, an Irish Wolfhound, and he is the thread that connects the past and the present. Through him, the love of his former owner, Sylvan, who gave him words, and taught him to save others, lives on. A slim and meditative book about love and caring for others during times of hardship.


Review by Mark B.

Staff Pick Badge
Greenglass House Cover Image
By Kate Milford, Jaime Zollars (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780544540286
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Clarion Books - November 1st, 2016

Twelve-year-old Milo can't wait for Christmas break at his adoptive parents' inn. But when strange guests start arriving one by one, Milo's plans for a relaxing winter break turn upside down. With rumors of a mystery surrounding the very inn in which Milo has spent his childhood, and with each guest acting stranger than the last, Milo sets out to discover the mystery of Greenglass House. Falling into this cozy mystery is the perfect way to spend any blustery, fall day!


Review by Claire

Staff Pick Badge
High Rhulain: A Tale from Redwall Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780142409381
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 3-10 days
Published: Firebird - March 13th, 2008

I started reading this series when I was 8, I am now 32 and I still re-read it and get new things out of it. Does your kid looove the Warriors series? Their mind will be blown by the world of Redwall. Imagine, if you will, an egalitarian community of woodland creatures who fight tyranny, go on epic quests, and throw the best parties with the most scrumptious and elaborate meals you've ever read about. 

Every creature, big or small, shy or outgoing, girl or boy, is valued and has an important role to play. Sometimes it's a formerly enslaved squirrel, or maybe a mute badger grandmother, or perhaps a young ottermaid who has perfect aim with a slingstone...


Review by Anje

Staff Pick Badge
Tess of the Road Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781101931288
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - February 27th, 2018

A smoothie of Into the Wild and On the Road, blended with Grade A feminism and fantasy. Though the plot moves at a walking pace, Tess's character drives this book forward. As she follows the eponymous road on her indelible journey, she moves away from a past that shackles her and towards a future that welcomes her audacious spirit. And as Tess learns, sometimes you just have to walk it off and, while doing so, find that you've been moving forward all along. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Badge
A Wrinkle in Time (A Wrinkle in Time Quintet #1) Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780312367541
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Square Fish - May 1st, 2007

Though this book is short, it is nothing short of profound. Meg was my first fictional hero, and she taught me something fundamentally important: that you can be flawed and still be a hero. You can be angry and amazing, full of fear and love at the same time, and all of those layers stack together to make you strong. A book to combat darkness, in all its forms.


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Badge
George (Scholastic Gold) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545812573
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Scholastic Inc. - April 25th, 2017

George's titular character is a transgender 4th grade girl whose unwavering faith in herself provides a model for all readers to aspire to. The supportive relationship that George has with her best friend Melissa assures readers that, with friends who encourage you to be your most authentic self, anything is possible. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Badge
The The Lotterys Plus One Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545925846
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Scholastic Inc. - July 31st, 2018

Think Cheaper by the Dozen but WAY BETTER. When you have a big family, it's easy for things to lapse into pandemonium, but the Lotterys manage that delicate balance between chaos and calm with skillful co-parenting, mindful communication, and lots of affection. A loving, inclusive snapshot of a non-traditional family for fans of The Penderwicks, Clementine, and Ivy + Bean. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Badge
The Wild Robot Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316382007
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 7th, 2020

This is not your average robot book. This robot book is also about: animals, what it means to be human, the environment, community-building, creating a family, and - most importantly - finding a home. Brown intersperses his text with his signature graphic illustrations, and his short chapters pack powerful punches while lending themselves well to reading aloud. Readers young and old will find themselves desperate for more robot Roz when this book ends. 


Review by Niki

Pages