Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Logo
Mac Undercover (Mac B., Kid Spy #1) Cover Image
By Mac Barnett, Mike Lowery (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338143591
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Orchard Books - September 11th, 2018

Mac Barnett, beloved children's author, has published quite a few cherished books. But before he was a New York Times bestselling author, he was a kid. And when he was a kid, he was a spy. This (true?) story chronicles Mac's early years as an undercover spy for the Queen of England and all the dangerous cool-guy tasks he had to complete to rescue the crown jewels. Perfect for the kid with a big imagination who enjoys a good laugh. Can be read aloud or read alone by a new reader!


Review by Halley

Staff Pick Logo
The Stars Beneath Our Feet Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781524701277
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Yearling - January 8th, 2019

Lolly's brother died last year. Everything is mostly back to normal, but Lolly still feels a stone in his heart when he thinks about Jermaine. The only time he feels better is when he's building his Legos. One day, he starts building out of his imagination instead of following the instructions--and slowly, his worldview begins to change. Told with a strong and compassionate voice, The Stars Beneath Our Feet is a tender story about grief, family, and coming together as a community.


Review by Halley

Staff Pick Logo
Hello, Universe Cover Image
By Erin Entrada Kelly, Isabel Roxas (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062414151
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Greenwillow Books - March 14th, 2017

I read Hello Universe with my 10 year old and we both fell in love with it. This amazing, wonderful, big-hearted book won the Newbery Medal and it definitely deserves it! We didn't want it to end. It's the story of three kids struggling to find their voice. Discovering the strength to speak up and say what you need is not always an easy path. Finding friendship where you least expect it can give you the leg up you didn't realize you needed. This book is a gift and prompted some wonderful conversations between my son and I. Young and old alike will find value and joy in this beautiful story.


Review by Patti H.

Staff Pick Logo
The Poet's Dog Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9780062292643
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 4th, 2018

A moving story about life and death and what lives on. The Poet's Dog is Teddy, an Irish Wolfhound, and he is the thread that connects the past and the present. Through him, the love of his former owner, Sylvan, who gave him words, and taught him to save others, lives on. A slim and meditative book about love and caring for others during times of hardship.


Review by Mark B.

Staff Pick Logo
Greenglass House Cover Image
By Kate Milford, Jaime Zollars (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780544540286
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Clarion Books - November 2016

Twelve-year-old Milo can't wait for Christmas break at his adoptive parents' inn. But when strange guests start arriving one by one, Milo's plans for a relaxing winter break turn upside down. With rumors of a mystery surrounding the very inn in which Milo has spent his childhood, and with each guest acting stranger than the last, Milo sets out to discover the mystery of Greenglass House. Falling into this cozy mystery is the perfect way to spend any blustery, fall day!


Review by Claire

Staff Pick Logo
Tess of the Road Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781101931288
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - February 27th, 2018

A smoothie of Into the Wild and On the Road, blended with Grade A feminism and fantasy. Though the plot moves at a walking pace, Tess's character drives this book forward. As she follows the eponymous road on her indelible journey, she moves away from a past that shackles her and towards a future that welcomes her audacious spirit. And as Tess learns, sometimes you just have to walk it off to progress. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Logo
A Wrinkle in Time (A Wrinkle in Time Quintet #1) Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780312367541
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Square Fish - May 2007

Though this book is short, it is nothing short of profound. Meg was my first fictional hero, and she taught me something fundamentally important: that you can be flawed and still be a hero. You can be angry and amazing, full of fear and love at the same time, and all of those layers stack together to make you strong. A book to combat darkness, in all its forms.


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Logo
George (Scholastic Gold) Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780545812573
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Scholastic Inc. - April 25th, 2017

George's titular character is a transgender 4th grade girl whose unwavering faith in herself provides a model for all readers to aspire to. The supportive relationship that George has with her best friend Melissa assures readers that, with friends who encourage you to be your most authentic self, anything is possible. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Logo
The Lotterys Plus One Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780545925815
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - March 28th, 2017

Think Cheaper by the Dozen but WAY BETTER. When you have a big family, it's easy for things to lapse into pandemonium, but the Lotterys manage that delicate balance between chaos and calm with skillful co-parenting, mindful communication, and lots of affection. A loving, inclusive snapshot of a non-traditional family for fans of The Penderwicks, Clementine, and Ivy + Bean. 


Review by Niki

Staff Pick Logo
The Wild Robot Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316382007
Availability: Not yet published - available for pre-order now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 7th, 2020

This is not your average robot book. This robot book is also about: animals, what it means to be human, the environment, community-building, creating a family, and - most importantly - finding a home. Brown intersperses his text with his signature graphic illustrations, and his short chapters pack powerful punches while lending themselves well to reading aloud. Readers young and old will find themselves desperate for more robot Roz when this book ends. 


Review by Niki

Pages