Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
To Survive on This Shore: Photographs and Interviews with Transgender and Gender Nonconforming Older Adults Cover Image
$55.00
ISBN: 9783868288544
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Kehrer Verlag - August 28th, 2018

To Survive On This Shore is a book that has impacted a number of people in my life very deeply, a book full of wisdom and humanity. It shares from the experiences of older transgender adults across the United States, told in their own words and with vivid full-page portraits that draw you into each person's narrative.


Review by Nata

Staff Pick Badge
In the Dream House: A Memoir Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781644450031
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Graywolf Press - November 5th, 2019

Carmen Maria Machado's (Her Body and Other Parties) memoir is one of those books whose impact will shake everything around it. No one writes books about intimate partner violence that occurs between queer women - but she has. It's a needed book that unfolds like a dark spell. Explosively imaginative, the essays inside each use a different literary trope (Mystical Pregnancy; Star-Crossed Lovers; Meet the Parents) to explore the course of an abusive relationship, seesawing between lively irony and inevitability. Machado's relentless sieving of memory and narrative for truth manages to be deeply beautiful, playful, and sharp all at once. I can't recommend it highly enough.


Review by Christina

Staff Pick Badge
In the Dream House: A Memoir Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781644450031
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Graywolf Press - November 5th, 2019

In picking the carcass of her own experience, Carmen Maria Machado has written a new kind of memoir. Short vignettes, told through kaleidoscopic lenses, are pieced together by the reader—not that it feels anything like work. It feels more like therapy.


Review by Kitri

Staff Pick Badge
How We Fight for Our Lives: A Memoir Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501132735
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Simon & Schuster - October 8th, 2019

Saeed Jones's memoir is my favorite fall book so far. Expanded from an essay (entitled How Men Fight For Their Lives) he originally published on The Rumpus in 2012, How We Fight For Our Lives exposes intersections of racism and homophobia in moments of intensity as well as moments of quiet. Jones lets the reader know him--his vulnerability is at the forefront as he details his coming of age, his relationship with his mother, and his understanding of the world and how to survive in it. I read it in one sitting.


Review by Alyson

Staff Pick Badge
salt slow Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250224774
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Flatiron Books - October 8th, 2019

With the recent trend of short story collections exploring the darker parts of womanhood, it can be difficult to dedicate your time to one book out of all the overwhelming options. However, Armfield's descent into body horror, queer desire, and personal monstrosity stands out due to the delicious decay surrounding her prose. Perfect for fans of Daisy Johnson and Carmen Maria Machado. 


Review by Sarah C.

Staff Pick Badge
Crier's War Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062823946
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: HarperTeen - October 1st, 2019

A love that could spark a war. Two girls - ore made, royalty; one human, her servant. A rebellion is brewing, forbidden love is blooming, and Ayla and Crier are at the center of it all...

Crier's War is a slow burn, Queer, enemies-to-lovers YA fantasy romance, and YES it is as good as it sounds! I couldn't put it down, I loved every bit of it. ❤️


Review by Gabi

Staff Pick Badge
The Last True Poets of the Sea Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781368048088
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Disney-Hyperion - October 1st, 2019

I wanted to hug these characters and never let go; live out my life on these salty shores, in the tiny shops; claim the metaphors as my own, never thinking of happy moments as anything other than pebbles on my own beach.  Julia Drake expertly captures the precious and painful experiences of family, friendship, and love in a net of small town lore, diverse journeys toward mental health, and some of the most beautifully poetic lines I've ever read. Simply put, The Last True Poets of the Sea made me ache for an understanding I didn’t know I needed.


Review by Katelynn

Staff Pick Badge
The Lady's Guide to Celestial Mechanics: Feminine Pursuits Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780062931795
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Avon Impulse - July 23rd, 2019

This gorgeous book is a historical, Sapphic, friends-to-lovers romance between a tenacious astronomer and a wealthy widow (who happens to be skilled in embroidery). AMAZING COVER ASIDE, this is an excellent "gateway" book for Romance: readers will enjoy how Waite draws parallels between women's experiences in the 19th century and the 21st. 

Our heroines get to work translating a new astronomical text despite rebuffs from London's Scientific Society. As their friendship flourishes and their pursuits war against societal gatekeepers, they ask each other: who determines Art? What is the difference between Scientist and Hobbyist? And best of all -- can ladies have happy endings?


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
The Last True Poets of the Sea Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781368048088
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Disney-Hyperion - October 1st, 2019

I can’t remember the last book I’ve been absolutely glued to like this one. There was a moment where I had to get up and start pacing the room as I was reading because my love for these characters quite literally affected my mind, body, & soul. It’s ultimately a story about survival; one that cuts deep while healing you at the same time. Quite simply, this book is “swoon” incarnate.


Review by Claire

Staff Pick Badge
Gideon the Ninth (The Locked Tomb Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250313195
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Tor.com - September 10th, 2019

Who is Gideon Nav?

 

- Badass swordswoman

- Lover of women and smutty magazines

-  Hater of wretched old necrotic nuns and skeleton armies

- Bound in servitude to a power-hungry (maybe mad?) necromancer intent on making her life a living hell

- Absolutely f-in hilarious, even when under an oath of silence by aforementioned necromancer

- Looks like she could kill you, could definitely kill you, but is also actually a cinnamon roll

- Love of my life?! (and could be yours too, if you read this AMAZING book)


Review by Ashley

Pages