Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
salt slow Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250224774
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Flatiron Books - October 8th, 2019

With the recent trend of short story collections exploring the darker parts of womanhood, it can be difficult to dedicate your time to one book out of all the overwhelming options. However, Armfield's descent into body horror, queer desire, and personal monstrosity stands out due to the delicious decay surrounding her prose. Perfect for fans of Daisy Johnson and Carmen Maria Machado. 


Review by Sarah C.

Staff Pick Badge
Beautiful Darkness Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781770463363
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Drawn and Quarterly - October 30th, 2018

Child logic and base ferality attempt to work together in this beautifully bleak fable. A group of fairies are forced to leave their previous...home and survive the wilderness. If you are looking for a sweet moral ribbon to tie around this tale, you wont find it. It is lost; buried in the woods amongst the maggots. 


Review by Dean