Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
Cantoras Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780525563433
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Vintage - June 2nd, 2020

In a time when being queer meant (at best) imprisonment under a brutal dictatorship, five women band together in the beginnings of friendship. They create a safe haven in a beach hut along the coast, where they are free to be who they are and love who they want. A triumph, a celebration, and a mourning all in one.


Review by Kelly

Staff Pick Badge
Bring Me the Head of Quentin Tarantino: Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781644450413
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Graywolf Press - November 3rd, 2020

The title will hopefully make you pick this up but I promise this collection is so satisfying, especially the very last short story in this book. Wild! 


Review by Rosa

Staff Pick Badge
Mona: A Novel Cover Image
By Pola Oloixarac, Adam Morris (Translated by)
$25.00
ISBN: 9780374211899
Availability: Coming soon - available for pre-order now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - March 16th, 2021

Ever wonder what happens when a bunch of renowned international writers gather for a weekend? No ego is left un-bruised in this novel. But I promise it's much more than the drama that unfolds between the writers. Mona is a character that will stay with you for a long time. 

 


Review by Rosa

Staff Pick Badge
How to Love a Country: Poems Cover Image
$14.00
ISBN: 9780807043073
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Beacon Press - March 24th, 2020

Blanco was the first openly gay, Latino, immigrant, as well as the youngest person to be the US inaugural poet when he read for Obama's second term. He brings this energy with him in this collection, his beautiful language depicting such heartbreak toward America's tendency for gun violence, racism, and LGBTQ oppression. Throughout, you can see him struggling with the idea of nationhood, digging his way closer to the answer of how to truly love a country.  

 


Review by Emily

Staff Pick Badge
The Book of Lost Saints Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250185815
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Imprint - November 5th, 2019

I could not put this book down. Marisol's spirit visits her nephew Ramon in modern-day New Jersey and prompts him to unearth painful family history and discover what happened to her after she disappeared during the Cuban Revolution. This story is many things - funny, heart-warming, captivating - and it is one of the few books that can make me laugh and cry while reading the same page.


Review by Kelly

Staff Pick Badge
The House of Impossible Beauties: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062676993
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Ecco - November 6th, 2018

If you have seen Paris is Burning or Netflix's Pose, you should read this book. This story is a fictionalized telling of the real House of Xtravaganza family members as they navigate 1980's New York, from walking in balls to walking the piers. Cassara shows us the dangers that can come with finding one's way in a bigoted society and shines a light on the strength, determination, and humor of these characters who ache to be seen.


Review by Kelly

Staff Pick Badge
The Undocumented Americans Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780399592683
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: One World - March 24th, 2020

If you enjoyed the novel American Dirt, then I DARE YOU to pick this up.

This explores the real lives of undocumented Americans and what they have contributed to this country. You may find yourself surprised to find what they have done for all of us.


Review by Rosa

Staff Pick Badge
In the Dream House: A Memoir Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781644450383
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Graywolf Press - December 1st, 2020

In picking the carcass of her own experience, Carmen Maria Machado has written a new kind of memoir. Short vignettes, told through kaleidoscopic lenses, are pieced together by the reader—not that it feels anything like work. It feels more like therapy.


Review by Kitri

Staff Pick Badge
All of Us with Wings Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781641290340
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Soho Teen - June 18th, 2019

Is it fate that intertwines 17-yr-old Xochi and 12-yr-old Pallas, or is it simply kindred spirit? On the night of the Autumn Equinox, they cast a playful spell and summon two eerie, green forest children - "Water Babies" in Native American lore - but these creatures do more than cause vivid dreams. Told from multiple POV's (including a bookstore cat!) with interludes in verse and oral storytelling, Keil's debut is a lush, magical novel of first loves and found family. 

A delightfully dark "New Adult" read for fans of Francesca Lia Block, Sherman Alexie, and Hayao Miyazaki. 


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
Tears of the Trufflepig: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780374538330
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: MCD x FSG Originals - May 14th, 2019

If Haruki Murikami had been born in Mexico and raised in southern Texas, this is the book he would have written. It's futuristic and hallucinogenic look at that region gives us a unique and welcome lens to view the border. 


Review by Robert

Pages