Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
The Rakess: Society of Sirens, Volume I Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062935618
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Avon - April 28th, 2020

Hands down, my new favorite historical romance of all time. What woman hasn't been disappointed, wronged, or hurt by men? Us cynics of love deserve a happily ever after, too!

Seraphina's memoirs are intended to enthrall her fellow ladies of society: her story is a call for equality of the sexes in late eighteenth-century England. She returns to her coastal home to focus on writing and instead discovers handsome Scottish architect Adam. THE RAKESS subverts all tropes to deliver a complex story of first heartbreaks, small-town gossip, and fiercely loyal friends.


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
Bringing Down the Duke (A League of Extraordinary Women #1) Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781984805683
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Berkley - September 3rd, 2019

Heartwarming and brilliant! A wintry historical romance perfect for fans of Sarah MacLean and Olivia Waite. Realistic stakes paired with rigid class boundaries set the stage for a bluestocking women's suffragist and a noble Tory political strategist to fall hopelessly in love. 


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
Get a Life, Chloe Brown: A Novel (The Brown Sisters #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062941206
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Avon - November 5th, 2019

GET A LIFE, CHLOE BROWN is a hate-to-love romantic comedy with more depth than the adorable cover suggests. Strong, smart-mouthed Chloe challenges herself to live more fully after a near-death experience breaks the monotony of managing severe fibromyalgia. She has made a list, of course, but struggles to check off more than the first item: move out of parent's house. Enter Red, her new (rather grouchy) apartment caretaker. They strike a deal to help Chloe with items on her list in exchange for an artist website. Adventures commence: motorbike rides, a drunken night out, camping in the woods. Not on the list? Falling in love.

A hilarious and charming romance with wickedly sexy scenes and believable emotional stakes grounded in familiar anxieties and traumas. 


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
I Capture the Castle Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780312201654
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - March 15th, 1999

I'm a sucker for coming-of-age novels, more so when the setting is a crumbling English castle. Cassandra is a witty, observant girl on the cusp of adulthood. Her family is in a perilous financial situation: her father probably isn't writing another groundbreaking novel, her stepmom has retreated to London, and her sister pins their salvation on their new, wealthy American neighbors. A lesser-known work by the author of 101 Dalmations, suitable for adult and teen readers alike!


Review by Danielle