Staff Picks by Tag

Staff Pick Badge
Float Plan Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250767943
Availability: Coming soon - available for pre-order now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - March 2nd, 2021

Float Plan turned my heart into a puddle. Anna's haphazard travels in the Carribean are an epic adventure to all of us trapped on dry land. And her newly-hired Irish deckhand, Keane, is an amalgam of all the best sexy cinnamon heroes in Romancelandia--prosthetic leg included. This is a grand adventure, a journey through grief, and, lest we forget the rules, a very satisfying happily ever after.

 


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
Make Up Break Up: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250761996
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - February 2nd, 2021

Two technology app developers go toe-to-toe for big funding in this delightful second chance, hate-to-love romantic comedy standalone. Drawn together by geography and the memory of a steamy week in Las Vegas, Annika and Hudson can't help but trick and torment one another.

Annika, creator of Make Up, knows her relationship fix-it AI will help people stay in love and work through their troubles. That is, if she can solve her money woes, get the app out of beta, and keep her office lease. 

Hudson, creator of Break Up, feels on top of the world with his success, splashy feature interviews, and a shiny new office. But to the woman he can't stop thinking about, his app--helping couples break up by offering on demand "terminators"--isn't changing the world for the better but in fact making it worse.

Make Up Break Up is a modern love story you'll share with friends for its realistic stakes, grounded characters, clever jokes, and supportive friends.  

 


Review by Danielle

Staff Pick Badge
The Lost Village: A Novel Cover Image
By Camilla Sten, Alexandra Fleming (Translated by)
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250249258
Availability: Coming soon - available for pre-order now
Published: Minotaur Books - March 23rd, 2021

In the hot summer of 1959, all but two of the 800 inhabitants of the remote mining town of Silvertjarn, Sweden disappeared without a trace.  Only a crying newborn and the village outcast, stoned to death in the square, remained.  Now documentary filmmaker Alice and her crew of frenemies, several with ties to the region, have come to investigate.  But the evil that occupied Silvertjarn sixty years ago has not faded with time.  A spooky, atmospheric Nordic thriller that will keep you turning the pages!


Review by Deborah

Staff Pick Badge
The Windsor Knot: A Novel (Her Majesty the Queen Investigates #1) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063050006
Availability: Coming soon - available for pre-order now
Published: William Morrow - March 9th, 2021

An absolutely delightful read for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Alan Bradley, where Queen Elizabeth must step in to solve a mysterious death at Windsor Castle when England's top investigators have failed.  On the eve of the Queen's 90th birthday celebration, the Castle is full of guests, including a dashing young Russian pianist found dead in his guest room.  Is it an accident, suicide, a jealous husband or Putin's secret agents?  Only Her Majesty can solve this puzzling case!


Review by Deborah

Staff Pick Badge
Winter's Orbit Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250758835
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Tor Books - February 2nd, 2021

A delightful queer romance with a fun sci. fi. setting. There's a nice balance between cute relationship moments and unraveling an interplanetary mystery full of political intrigue. I listened to the audiobook on Libro.fm and it was top notch.

If you want something that will pull you in and be a great time, pick this one up, you'll thank me later.

P.S. Your heart is NOT ready for Prince Kiem and Count Jainan <3 <3


Review by Nicole

Staff Pick Badge
Christian Apologetics Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780875525112
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: P & R Publishing - January 10th, 2003

Each of us has 5 senses and a 3-pound brain. This is our only fundamental, basic equiptment for discovering, evaluating or knowing anything. At least, this is the position of the atheist-materialist. Yet how do we know our equiptment is adequate or even functioning properly? Ultimately, the best we can say is: my equiptment works because my equiptment tells me this is true. Circular reasoning! Well, Van Til is your best guide to this crisis - the problem of presuppositions, of our essential dependency and creaturliness - in view of Christianity, this book is often abstract but also accessible, and when read as intended it may have the effect of the Book of Psalms, the effect of doxology.


Review by Adam

Staff Pick Badge
Movies (And Other Things) Cover Image
By Shea Serrano, Arturo Torres (Illustrator)
$25.00
ISBN: 9781538730195
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Twelve - October 8th, 2019

Perfect for those humor fans or non-pretentious movie buffs that want to weigh in on what other movie characters would be in Regina George's clique or who got it the worst in Kill Bill? Paired with Torres' fantastic illustrations, Serrano writes lovingly and analytically about movies from the 1980s to today with opinions that toggle between silly and serious. Because really which movie villain would make the best hang and how culturally significant was 1997's Selena? This is a great book to escape into with the kind of author that wouldn't leave you bored at a party.


Review by Emily

Staff Pick Badge
Mediocre: The Dangerous Legacy of White Male America Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781580059510
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Seal Press - December 1st, 2020

Mediocre is anything but mediocre. Oluo lays out how we have perpetuated white supremacy and racism by celebrating the simple mediocrity of white maleness. With a seat at the table, she elbows room for other women and people of color, the biggest victims of this mediocrity, and unpacks the dangers of societal expectations. Well-researched and still accessible, this book will make you really angry but in a good way. 


Review by Emily

Staff Pick Badge
Nobody's Normal: How Culture Created the Stigma of Mental Illness Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780393531640
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - January 26th, 2021

A fascinating history of the cultural stigma of mental illness that simultaneously provides a history of psychiatry, psychology and the creation of the DSM, among other things. While reading this book I constantly had the urge to turn to the person next to me and exclaim, "Wow! Listen to this!" Grinker provides a detailed global history of mental illness and how various cultures have dealt with it. From the creation of asylums to the employment of autistic individuals, Grinker has authored an empathetic overview of his subject with much to mull over as we become more accepting of those that may be different from ourselves. We're all on the spectrum!


Review by Mark B.

Staff Pick Badge
The Tea Dragon Society Cover Image
By K. O'Neill, K. O'Neill (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781620107379
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Oni Press - June 16th, 2020

Everything about this delightful little book is perfect. From the art, the colors, the world and the characters that inhabit it. From page 1, you are welcomed with big, open friendly arms. You feel so immersed in the story, you start to notice the slight scent of tea brewing. It is packed with messages, telling us to pursue our passions and take care of ourselves and others. Highly, highly recommend.


Review by Javi

Pages