Social Justice Syllabus vol VI

Founded in 2017, the Social Justice Syllabus Book Club invites community members to read together on themes related to equality and justice. During our first series, Kaepernick’s Reading List, we read and discussed books the New York Times described as being inspirational to quarterback Colin Kaepernick’s activism. Our second syllabus, called Borders, focused on fiction, nonfiction, and poetry about immigration, asylum, and borders. Our third series, Pages Against the Patriarchy, explored what patriarchy is, how it affects us, and looked at other ways of living. Series four, Policing & Protest, explored the role of policing in the Unitied States and looked at how protest movements can be used to build a more just future for all. During our fifth series, Native Lands, Native Lives, we spent the year reading histories, novels, and poetry by and about Native Americans, with a particular focus on some of the Native stories from the Seattle region.

Series 6 is called Say Gay. After kicking off with a radical fairytale/treatise that may provide a touchstone, we will spend the year exploring, in chronological order by date-published, the writings of LGBTQ+ people and communities. 

Writer and pro bono immigration attorney C. Hudak is the founder of the Social Justice Syllabus Book Club. She collaborates with Third Place Books to develop the SJS reading lists and hosts the monthly discussions.

The Social Justice Syllabus Book Club meets on the last Thursday of every month. All are welcome and no purchase is required.

Register now

for this virtual event

Sign up here!


Past reads include:

The Faggots and Their Friends Between Revolutions By Larry Mitchell, Ned Asta (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Larry Mitchell, Ned Asta (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781643620060
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Nightboat Books - July 2nd, 2019

The Faggots and Their Friends Between Revolutions is a beloved queer utopian text written by Larry Mitchell with lush illustrations by Ned Asta, published by Calamus Press in 1977.