Kirby Larson

Code Word Courage (Dogs of World War II) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545840767
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Scholastic Inc. - April 7th, 2020

Newbery Honor-winning author Kirby Larson delivers a heartwarming story of friendship, love, and courage, and the incredible contributions of Navajo Code Talkers during WWII.


Liberty (Dogs of World War II) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545840729
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Scholastic Inc. - December 26th, 2017

Fish has a knack for inventing. His annoying neighbor, Olympia, has a knack for messing things up. But when his latest invention leads Fish to Liberty, a beautiful stray dog who needs a home, he and Olympia work together to rescue her.


Dash (Dogs of World War II) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545416368
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - May 10th, 2016

Although Mitsi Kashino and her family are swept up in the wave of anti-Japanese sentiment following the attack on Pearl Harbor, Mitsi never expects to lose her home -- or her beloved dog, Dash. But, as World War II rages and people of Japanese descent are forced into incarceration camps, Mitsi is separated from Dash, her classmates, and life as she knows it.


Duke (Dogs of World War II) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545416382
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - April 28th, 2015

With World War II raging and his father fighting overseas in Europe, eleven-year-old Hobie Hanson is determined to do his part to help his family and his country, even if it means giving up his beloved German shepherd, Duke.


Audacity Jones to the Rescue (Audacity Jones #1) Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780545840606
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Scholastic Press - December 27th, 2016

Audacity Jones pines for adventure, something to break up the monotony of her days at Miss Maisie's School for Wayward Girls. Being a Wayward Girl isn't so awful -- even if Audie is condemned to the Punishment Room almost daily. Audie has the dearest of friends at the School, as well as a terribly clever feline companion named Miniver and plenty of books to read there.


Audacity Jones Steals the Show (Audacity Jones #2) Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780545840668
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Scholastic Inc. - March 27th, 2018

Audacity Jones and her best friend, Bimmy, are setting off from Miss Maisie's School for Wayward Girls on an extraordinary adventure! In the glittering city of New York, the girls meet Harry Houdini, the world's most famous magician, as he prepares a new spectacle: Houdini plans to make an elephant disappear from a crowded theater.


Hattie Big Sky (Hattie Series #1) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780385735957
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Yearling - December 23rd, 2008

This Newbery Honor winning, New York Times bestseller celebrates the true spirit of independence on the American frontier.


Hattie Ever After (Hattie Series #2) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780375850905
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Ember - January 7th, 2014

After leaving Uncle Chester's homestead claim, orphan Hattie Brooks throws a lasso around a new dream, even bigger than the Montana sky. She wants to be a reporter, knowing full well that a few pieces published in the Arlington News will not suffice. Real reporters must go to Grand Places, and do Grand Things, like Hattie's hero Nellie Bly.


The Friendship Doll Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780375850899
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Yearling - May 8th, 2012

I am Miss Kanagawa. In 1927, my 57 doll-sisters and I were sent from Japan to America as Ambassadors of Friendship. Our work wasn't all peach blossoms and tea cakes. My story will take you from New York to Oregon, during the Great Depression. Though few in this tale are as fascinating as I, their stories won't be an unpleasant diversion.


Two Bobbies: A True Story of Hurricane Katrina, Friendship, and Survival Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780802797544
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens - September 1st, 2008

from Newbery award winning author Kirby Larson comes a remarkable true story of the devotion, friendship, and survival of two pets left behind in the wake of Hurricane Katrina. In the tradition of Owen and Mzee, this beautiful picture book is a testament to the spirit that defined post-Katrina rescue missions.


Nubs: The True Story of a Mutt, a Marine & a Miracle Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316053181
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - November 1st, 2009

Discover the true story of a Marine and the fiercely loyal dog he befriends during the Iraq War. Over 100,000 copies sold!
 
Nubs, an Iraqi dog of war, never had a home or a person of his own. He was the leader of a pack of wild dogs living off the land and barely surviving. But Nubs's life changed when he met Marine Major Brian Dennis.


Nanea: The Spirit of Aloha Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781683371380
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days
Published: American Girl Publishing Inc - August 27th, 2019

Nanea: Hula for the Home Front Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781683371397
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days
Published: American Girl Publishing Inc - August 27th, 2019