Lake Forest Park

Latest Staff Picks

An undiscovered classic concerning the life, times and travels of a canine gentleman adventurer and transcendentalist.  What a beautiful, wise, fierce, life-loving book this is! Like the Pooh books, there's an astonishing amount of wisdom here.

 

This novel features some challenging vocabulary, but it’s a great read for 4th to 5th graders--perhaps even advanced 3rd grade readers.  And having read it twice, I can testify: adults also will adore it.

Picked by Adam

GET A LIFE, CHLOE BROWN is a hate-to-love romantic comedy with more depth than the adorable cover suggests. Strong, smart-mouthed Chloe challenges herself to live more fully after a near-death experience breaks the monotony of managing severe fibromyalgia. She has made a list, of course, but struggles to check off more than the first item: move out of parent's house. Enter Red, her new (rather grouchy) apartment caretaker. They strike a deal to help Chloe with items on her list in exchange for an artist website. Adventures commence: motorbike rides, a drunken night out, camping in the woods. Not on the list? Falling in love. A hilarious and charming romance with wickedly sexy scenes and believable emotional stakes grounded in familiar anxieties and traumas. 

Picked by Danielle

The Baby-Sitters Club meets The First Rule Of Punk in this fierce novel about sisterhood, friendship, and standing up for what’s right. When the Red Club—an after-school, student-run club for middle school girls to shamelessly ask their weirdest questions about periods and puberty—gets shut down after anonymous complaints of it being too inappropriate, Riley and her friends must investigate the real reasons why their club was taken away. And they just might start a feminist movement along the way.

Picked by Claire

Given news from Syria in recent years I was hesitant to read this book, not believing that a story about a beekeeper could capture war, loss, and devastation. Once I started reading, the chapters flowed into one another with a pace matched only by the intensity of Nuri and Afrah’s journey as they fled Syria. This book, informed by Lefteri’s refugee volunteer work with UNICEF in Athens, Greece and her own experience as a daughter of Cypriot refugees, makes you stay up late or miss your bus stop (or both!). If we are lucky, our hearts will ache and grow, love and mourn, grieve and be more open than before.

Picked by Elisabeth

Davis proves again that she's the best comics artist working today with this complex and empathetic meditation on our competing hopes and fears for the future in a fracturing society.

Picked by Stephen

This books is as unrelenting as the abuse endured within its pages. Its equal parts Shirley Jackson, Charles Dickens and Angela Carter. This beautifully written suburban gothic is cut through with shards of magical realism and propped up by the sympathetic voice of the protagonist. It surveys the laborious nature of trauma and the dissociation required to cope.

Picked by Dean

With the recent trend of short story collections exploring the darker parts of womanhood, it can be difficult to dedicate your time to one book out of all the overwhelming options. However, Armfield's descent into body horror, queer desire, and personal monstrosity stands out due to the delicious decay surrounding her prose. Perfect for fans of Daisy Johnson and Carmen Maria Machado. 

Picked by Sarah C.

A love that could spark a war. Two girls - ore made, royalty; one human, her servant. A rebellion is brewing, forbidden love is blooming, and Ayla and Crier are at the center of it all...

Crier's War is a slow burn, Queer, enemies-to-lovers YA fantasy romance, and YES it is as good as it sounds! I couldn't put it down, I loved every bit of it. ❤️

Picked by Gabi

This slight but viciously effective novella introduces a sadomasochistic mythology that spills over with gore and poetics. The monastic creatures within are iconic for a reason: they intrigue, terrify, and titillate. But its the human characters that are the real monsters, driven by ego and selfish desire. This tale explores the line between pleasure and pain and reveals the bloody face of transcendence. 

Picked by Dean