Lake Forest Park

Latest Staff Picks

Float Plan turned my heart into a puddle. Anna's haphazard travels in the Carribean are an epic adventure to all of us trapped on dry land. And her newly-hired Irish deckhand, Keane, is an amalgam of all the best sexy cinnamon heroes in Romancelandia--prosthetic leg included. This is a grand adventure, a journey through grief, and, lest we forget the rules, a very satisfying happily ever after.

 

Picked by Danielle

Two technology app developers go toe-to-toe for big funding in this delightful second chance, hate-to-love romantic comedy standalone. Drawn together by geography and the memory of a steamy week in Las Vegas, Annika and Hudson can't help but trick and torment one another.

Annika, creator of Make Up, knows her relationship fix-it AI will help people stay in love and work through their troubles. That is, if she can solve her money woes, get the app out of beta, and keep her office lease. 

Hudson, creator of Break Up, feels on top of the world with his success, splashy feature interviews, and a shiny new office. But to the woman he can't stop thinking about, his app--helping couples break up by offering on demand "terminators"--isn't changing the world for the better but in fact making it worse.

Make Up Break Up is a modern love story you'll share with friends for its realistic stakes, grounded characters, clever jokes, and supportive friends.  

 

Picked by Danielle

​It is so incredibly satisfying when an author's second novel exceeds your expectations, and Christine Day does just that with her second novel for the tween set. Maisie, our main character, struggles to find her footing after a devastating injury renders her unable to do the one thing she adores more than anything else: dance ballet. The book is again set in Seattle, so it's extra relevant to locals, as Day again contextualizes her heroine's indigenous identity with history about local tribes (Maisie's mother is Makah, stepfather is lower Elwha Klallam). Day also presents Maisie's increasing symptoms of anxiety and depression with intentional care and plenty of parental support. Another thoughtful tale from a writer who's just getting started. 

Picked by Niki

Cat Min's debut picturebook lured me in with its intriguing cover and then firmly entranced me with its tale of the generous, introverted Willow. Our rabbit heroine valiantly tries to avoid all outdoor dangers, but she lives in an abandoned mailbox, so the outside world has a way of peeking in. When she receives a letter asking for a very special birthday present, Willow decides to deliver the note to its intended recipient, the moon. Min's exquisitely soft, colorful, & inventive artwork is an easy cushion to fall into. A wondrous book to inspire readers to venture outside their comfort zones, if only for one very good reason.

Picked by Niki

If Romeo and Juliet were set in California and featured families feuding nonviolently over their rival Vietnamese restaurants, you'd get this tender-hearted romance by debut author Le. Despite their parents' restaurants being across the street from each other, Bao and Linh are bound by their families' decades-long feud to avoid one another indefinitely. Until an unexpected partnership covering restaurant reviews for the school newspaper has them spending more and more time together. While occasionally trite, this really is a pick-me-up of a book, perfect for readers looking to escape into the reassuring comfort of a happy ending.

Picked by Niki

In the hot summer of 1959, all but two of the 800 inhabitants of the remote mining town of Silvertjarn, Sweden disappeared without a trace.  Only a crying newborn and the village outcast, stoned to death in the square, remained.  Now documentary filmmaker Alice and her crew of frenemies, several with ties to the region, have come to investigate.  But the evil that occupied Silvertjarn sixty years ago has not faded with time.  A spooky, atmospheric Nordic thriller that will keep you turning the pages!

Picked by Deborah

An absolutely delightful read for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Alan Bradley, where Queen Elizabeth must step in to solve a mysterious death at Windsor Castle when England's top investigators have failed.  On the eve of the Queen's 90th birthday celebration, the Castle is full of guests, including a dashing young Russian pianist found dead in his guest room.  Is it an accident, suicide, a jealous husband or Putin's secret agents?  Only Her Majesty can solve this puzzling case!

Picked by Deborah

A delightful queer romance with a fun sci. fi. setting. There's a nice balance between cute relationship moments and unraveling an interplanetary mystery full of political intrigue. I listened to the audiobook on Libro.fm and it was top notch.

If you want something that will pull you in and be a great time, pick this one up, you'll thank me later.

P.S. Your heart is NOT ready for Prince Kiem and Count Jainan <3 <3

Picked by Nicole

Each of us has 5 senses and a 3-pound brain. This is our only fundamental, basic equiptment for discovering, evaluating or knowing anything. At least, this is the position of the atheist-materialist. Yet how do we know our equiptment is adequate or even functioning properly? Ultimately, the best we can say is: my equiptment works because my equiptment tells me this is true. Circular reasoning! Well, Van Til is your best guide to this crisis - the problem of presuppositions, of our essential dependency and creaturliness - in view of Christianity, this book is often abstract but also accessible, and when read as intended it may have the effect of the Book of Psalms, the effect of doxology.

Picked by Adam