Kids’ Picks

Staff Pick Badge
Lines of Courage Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338620931
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Scholastic Press - May 17th, 2022

Lines of Courage is an amazing book that talks about an overlooked part of history. It takes place during WWI and swaps between the perspectives of 5 characters. Each of their stories were fun, interesting, and kept me hooked. Even though the characters are on different sides, they eventually meet and work together. I would recommend this book to people who like historical fiction.

Young Reviewer Otto


Staff Pick Badge
The Unforgettable Logan Foster #1 Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063047679
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: HarperCollins - January 18th, 2022

When his adoptive superhero parents are caught during a mission, Logan Foster, a 12-year-old boy with a photographic memory, has to use his regular human powers to rescue them. I found this book really enjoyable! It gives a new perspective on superheroes because they worked together with the government until WWII. Now the government tries to control them and they live with limitations. I recommend this book to anyone who likes Superhero stories.

Young Reviewer Axel


Staff Pick Badge
At the End of Everything Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781492673156
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Sourcebooks Fire - January 25th, 2022

This book had me hooked all the way through. It starts in an awful child correctional facility. One day the staff disappear and the kids learn they have been abandoned due to a plague. They need to fend for themselves once the plague hits. It deals with topics like losing people close to you. This book is captivating, especially for people who like realistic fiction. You can also relate more to their situation because of living through a pandemic.

Young Reviewer Otto


Staff Pick Badge
The Chosen: Contender Book 1 Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250251008
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Square Fish - August 11th, 2020

The Chosen is perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and highly intelligent narrators. I’ve always loved fantasy that involves some sort of competition and this was PERFECT! The characters were all distinct and never melded together in my mind. Most modern-day fantasy books feel too cheesy to me, but this was just right. I genuinely enjoyed this book and I’m excited to read the rest of the series!

Young Reviewer Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
The Love Curse of Melody McIntyre Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062409263
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 3-10 days
Published: HarperTeen - December 1st, 2020

After a disastrous opening night of a high-school play due to a horrendous breakup, Melody McIntyre vows not to fall in love with anyone during the next musical—Les Misérables—in order to keep the ancient curse on the theater from ruining yet another production . . . but Mel didn't count on meeting Odile Rose. This brilliant romantic comedy highlights the risks and dramas of theater, friendship, and love, and anyone who has enjoyed the chaotically hilarious tale of Shakespeare's Twelfth Night is sure to adore Melody's wild ride.

Young Reviewer Vivian


Staff Pick Badge
Happily Ever Afters Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062982834
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 3-10 days
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 5th, 2021

Starting at a new school, Tessa is excited to practice her writing with people who get her, but it's not easy for her to just jump right in. Tessa is anxious, and she overthinks way too much, and I adore seeing a character I can relate to. I loved this book for so many reasons: small details I thought were nothing in the moment come back as plot points later, side characters who I couldn't wait to appear again, and the descriptions of the arts that each character was passionate about. This is one of those love stories I wish I could read again for the first time just to feel that excitement at the first kiss and initial moments between the love interests. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a cheesy rom-com to sigh happily over.

Young Reviewer Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
Rival Magic Cover Image
$17.99
Unavailable at this time.
ISBN: 9781534439054
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - April 21st, 2020

Antonia and Moppe are apprentices to a sorcerer and have a mixed-up friendship: sometimes they are friends and sometimes not. They have to learn to work together and use their magic skills to save their island before it’s destroyed and evil takes over. The plot is topsy-turvy and things change when you least expect it. This is one of the best books I’ve read all year, and I loved the diversity. Kids who like magic and girl power NEED to read this book!!!

Young Reviewer Emeline


Staff Pick Badge
Some Other Now Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780358251866
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Clarion Books - February 23rd, 2021

I read this book in one four-hour sitting that ended with me crying in my living room at 1:00am. I thought it was a bittersweet love story at first, but I was so wrong. This book is split between the past and the present, which makes discovering what really happened all the more exciting. In the "then," Jessi only wants to spend time with her best friend Rowan Cohen and his older brother Luke, who Jessi's liked since she was a kid. But when their mom gets diagnosed with cancer, and Rowan starts acting differently towards Jessi, things start to spiral. In the "now," Jessi deals with crushing grief and guilt, but over what? As readers progress, they'll discover that Some Other Now evolves into a very deep story about grief, acceptance, and forgiveness as it answers the question "What really happened with the Cohens?"

Young Reviewer Jamie


Staff Pick Badge
Witches of Brooklyn: (A Graphic Novel) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593119273
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Random House Graphic - September 1st, 2020

I knew I would like this book, but I thought it would be because of the witches. As it turns out, being a witch isn’t that big of a deal, and the title spoils that reveal, anyway. What I loved were the characters. Effie, who moves in with her weird aunts, is a believable and funny tween, and said aunts are quirky, adorable, not-to-be-messed-with witches! The whole thing is a romp, with new schools, pampered pop-stars, and ancient curses!

Young Reviewer Cordelia


Staff Pick Badge
Séance Tea Party: (A Graphic Novel) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984894151
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Random House Graphic - September 15th, 2020

​Lora does NOT want to grow up. It sounds horrible! But as her friends begin to leave her behind​,​ and the world around her starts to move on, Lora begins to fear the inevitable. But when a tea-party-séance introduces ​her to Alexa, a ghost who will​ never grow up​, Lora begins to recapture the magic of her childhood and learn​s​ ​how ​to carry it with her as she grows. This beautiful graphic novel about friendship, magic, and the many challenges of growing up truly touched my heart​,​ and I know it will do the same for others.

Young Reviewer Vivian


Staff Pick Badge
Witchlight: (A Graphic Novel) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593119990
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Random House Graphic - April 14th, 2020

The story follows Sanja, a talented sword fighter, and Lelek, a witch. When they meet in the marketplace, the two start on a journey that helps Lelek discover the best and worst parts of her past.

Young Reviewer Frannie