The Best Middle-Grade Books of 2020

Letters from Cuba Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525516477
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - August 25th, 2020

Pura Belpré Award Winner Ruth Behar's inspiring story of a young Jewish girl who escapes Poland to make a new life in Cuba, while she works to rescue the rest of her family


The Space We're In Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780823442898
Availability: Out of stock, usually available in 3-10 days
Published: Margaret Ferguson Books - October 8th, 2019

Ten-year-old Frank has trouble navigating his relationship with his younger brother Max who is autistic.

Frank loves soccer, codes, riding his bike, and playing with his friends. His brother Max is five. Max only eats foods that are beige or white, hates baths, and if he has to wear a t-shirt that isn't gray with yellow stripes he melts down down down.


Staff Pick Badge
The Brave Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250247759
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Feiwel & Friends - June 30th, 2020

Perfect for fans of Rain Reign, this middle-grade novel The Brave is about a boy with an OCD issue and his move to a reservation to live with his biological mother.


The Barren Grounds: The Misewa Saga, Book 1 Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735266100
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Puffin Canada - September 8th, 2020

Narnia meets traditional Indigenous stories of the sky and constellations in an epic middle grade fantasy series from award-winning author David Robertson.


How to Bee Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9781773064185
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Groundwood Books - March 3rd, 2020

Peony lives with her sister, Magnolia, and her grandfather on a fruit farm outside the city. All Peony really wants is to be a bee. Even though she is only nine -- and bees must be ten -- Peony already knows all there is to know about being a bee and she is determined to achieve her dream.


The Only Black Girls in Town Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316456388
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 10th, 2020

Award-winning YA author Brandy Colbert's debut middle-grade novel about the only two Black girls in town who discover a collection of hidden journals revealing shocking secrets of the past.


Staff Pick Badge
Black Brother, Black Brother Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316493802
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 3rd, 2020

From award-winning and bestselling author, Jewell Parker Rhodes comes a powerful coming-of-age story about two brothers, one who presents as white, the other as black, and the complex ways in which they are forced to navigate the world, all while training for a fencing competition.


Framed. Bullied. Disliked. But I know I can still be the best.


Becoming Muhammad Ali Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316498166
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: jimmy patterson - October 5th, 2020

From two heavy-hitters in children's literature comes a critically acclaimed biographical novel of cultural icon Muhammad Ali.

*"This utterly delightful story about Ali's childhood is a smash hit."
--School Library Journal (starred review)

Five starred reviews!


Efrén Divided Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062881687
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Quill Tree Books - March 31st, 2020

“We need books to break open our hearts, so that we might feel more deeply, so that we might be more human in these unkind times. This is a book doing work of the spirit in a time of darkness.” —Sandra Cisneros, author of The House on Mango Street 


Brother's Keeper Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780823444946
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Holiday House - July 21st, 2020

With war looming on the horizon and winter setting in, can two children escape North Korea on their own?

North Korea. December, 1950.


Staff Pick Badge
When Stars Are Scattered Cover Image
By Victoria Jamieson, Omar Mohamed, Victoria Jamieson (Illustrator), Iman Geddy (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780525553908
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Dial Books - April 14th, 2020

Heartbreak and hope exist together in this remarkable graphic novel about growing up in a refugee camp, as told by a Somali refugee to the Newbery Honor-winning creator of Roller Girl.