Virtual Event: Emily Levesque — The Last Stargazers: The Enduring Story of Astronomy's Vanishing Explorers

This is a virtual event taking place via Zoom Webinar.


Third Place Books welcomes Emily Levesque, astronomy professor at the University of Washington, for the paperback release of The Last Stargazers: The Enduring Story of Astronomy's Vanishing Explorers.

This event will be broadcast live on Zoom. Registering will provide you with a unique access link in an email. During the event, you can ask questions using the Q&A feature, or chat with fellow attendees.

This author talk is free! You can sustain our author series by purchasing a copy of the featured book.

 

Click here to register

for this virtual event

Sign up here!
 

About The Last Stargazers. . .

From a childhood reading A Wrinkle in Time to discovering a new species of star, astronomer Emily Levesque has spent her life exploring the universe. . . and now she wants to share that exploration with the world.

For readers of Labgirl and Neil DeGrasse Tyson, The Last Stargazers combines the exciting travels of award-winning astronomer Emily Levesque with the misunderstood antics of a scrappy (and shrinking) crew of scientists working with stars and telescopes. She dissects both the romance and the real human curiosity that is so important to our exploration of space.

Amidst the lonely quiet of stargazing to wild bears loose in the observatory, these love stories of astronomy show how scientists are going beyond the machines to infuse important creativity and intimate passion into the stars, inspiring future generations to peer skyward in pursuit of the universe's secrets.
 

Praise for The Last Stargazers. . .

"Levesque's writing is witty and honest, and asks us all to reconsider our relationship with the Universe."
Science Focus

"Immensely readable, and worth recommending to anyone who ever saw a constellation, an eclipse or a shooting star, and wondered about giving chase."
Zenger News

"The awesome endeavours and intellectual adventures in the physical practice and gains in understanding that are the heart and passion of astronomers are gloriously portrayed from the mind of a wonderful practitioner, Emily Levesque. Her range of experiences and insights through the recent period of rapid developments and future planning in this progressive human effort gloriously reach out to everyone."
Professor Alec Boksenberg, former director of the Royal Greenwich Observatory


Dr. Emily Levesque is an astronomy professor at the University of Washington. She has observed for upward of fifty nights on many of the planet’s largest telescopes and flown over the Antarctic stratosphere in an experimental aircraft for her research. Her academic accolades include the 2014 Annie Jump Cannon Prize, a 2017 Alfred P. Sloan fellowship, and the 2020 Newton Lacy Pierce Prize. The Last Stargazers is her first popular science book.


Third Place Books Events Code of Conduct: Third Place Books is committed to ensuring the safety and well-being of event attendees and guest authors, during both online and in-store events. By registering for this event, you are agreeing to refrain from engaging in inappropriate behavior and harassment of any kind throughout the course of this event (i.e. racial slurs, profanity, hate speech, spam comments, etc.). Please note that any participants who engage in inappropriate behavior or harassment of any kind will be immediately ejected from this event.