Virtual Event: Caren Beilin and Cristina Rivera Garza with Danielle Dutton

Celebrate two new books from Dorothy, A Publishing Project


Third Place Books is proud to partner with Harvard Book Store, Community Bookstore, and Brazos Bookstore to celebrate the launch of two new books from Dorothy, a Publishing Project.

Caren Beilin—author of Revenge of the Scapegoat, a novel of both serious pain and brutal absurdity—and MacArthur Fellow Cristina Rivera Garza—author of New and Selected Stories, a collection drawn from over three decades of her extraordinary career—will discuss their latest books with Danielle Dutton, co-founder and editor of Dorothy.

This event will be broadcast live on Zoom. Registering will provide you with a unique access link in an email. During the event, you can ask questions using the Q&A feature, or chat with fellow attendees. A recording of the event will be made available and emailed to all who register.

This author talk is free! You can sustain our author series by purchasing a copy of the featured book.

 

Register now

for this virtual event

Sign up here!

 

About Revenge of the Scapegoat by Caren Beilin. . .

“Animated with the moxie and wit of Acker and Tillman, Caren Beilin is one of the most bizarre and fearless writers of her generation. Revenge of the Scapegoat is a surreal take on the tendency people have to damage those we claim to love and the way parental cruelty renders the world unrecognizable.”
Catherine Lacey, author of Pew

“Loved every second of it—Beilin is one to read more of and keep an eye on.” —Meghana Kandlur, Seminary Co-op Bookstores

From the author of Blackfishing the IUD, a darkly hilarious novel about familial trauma, chronic illness, academic labor, and contemporary art.

In the tradition of Rabelais, Swift, and Fran Ross—the tradition of biting satire that joyfully embraces the strange and fantastical—and drawing upon documentary strategies from Sheila Heti, Caren Beilin offers a tale of familial trauma that is also a broadly inclusive skewering of academia, the medical industry, and the contemporary art scene.

One day Iris, an adjunct at a city arts college, receives a terrible package: recently unearthed letters that her father had written to her in her teens, in which he blames her for their family’s crises. Driven by the raw fact of receiving these devastating letters not once but twice in a lifetime, and in a panic of chronic pain brought on by rheumatoid arthritis, Iris escapes to the countryside—or some absurdist version of it. Nazi cows, Picassos used as tampons, and a pair of arthritic feet that speak in the voices of Flaubert’s Bouvard and Pécuchet are standard fare in this beguiling novel of odd characters, surprising circumstances, and intuitive leaps, all brought together in profoundly serious ways.

 

About New and Selected Stories by Cristina Rivera Garza. . .

“This hypnotic, riveting collection of new and previously published stories from MacArthur Fellow Rivera Garza (Grieving: Dispatches from a Wounded Country, essays) takes on love, migration, and violence…These unsettling yet deeply approachable stories ought to earn Rivera Garza the wider attention she deserves.” —Publishers Weekly

“This insanely creepy & brilliant book by the incomparable Cristina Rivera Garza will keep you awake at night. Garza is a master of atmosphere. A detective novel directed by David Lynch & narrated by Bolaño.” —Mark Haber, Brazos Bookstore

A story collection drawn from across her career brings into English for the first time the extraordinary stylistic and thematic range of the Mexican writer and MacArthur “genius” Cristina Rivera Garza.

“One of Mexico’s greatest living writers,” wrote Jonathan Lethem in 2018 about Cristina Rivera Garza, “we are just barely beginning to catch up to what she has to offer.” In the years since, Rivera Garza’s work has received widespread recognition: She was awarded a MacArthur Genius Grant for fiction that “interrogates culturally constructed notions of language, memory, and gender from a transnational perspective,” and was a finalist for the 2020 National Book Critics Circle Award for Criticism. Yet we have still only started to discover the full range of a writer who is at once an incisive voice on migration, borders, and violence against women, as well as a high stylist in the manner of Lispector or Duras.

New and Selected Stories now brings together in English translation stories from across Rivera Garza’s career, drawing from three collections spanning over 30 years and including new writing not yet published in Spanish. It is a unique and remarkable body of work, and a window into the ever-evolving stylistic and thematic development of one of the boldest, most original and affecting writers in the world today.


Caren Beilin is the author of several previous books including Blackfishing the IUD (Wolfman Books, 2019), and a memoir, Spain (Rescue Press, 2018). She teaches at the Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts and lives close by, in Vermont. (Photo credit: Jean-Paul Cauvin)

Cristina Rivera Garza is the author of numerous works of poetry, fiction, and criticism, including Grieving: Dispatches from a Wounded Country (translated by Sarah Booker and a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award) and The Taiga Syndrome (translated by Aviva Kana and Suzanne Jill Levine and winner of the Shirley Jackson Award). She is Distinguished Professor and founder of the PhD Program in Creative Writing in Spanish at the University of Houston, Department of Hispanic Studies. In 2020, she was named a MacArthur Fellow in Fiction. (Photo credit: Marta Calvo)

Danielle Dutton is the author, most recently, of the novel Margaret the First. She is co-founder and editor of Dorothy, a publishing project.


Third Place Books Events Code of Conduct: Third Place Books is committed to ensuring the safety and well-being of event attendees and guest authors, during both online and in-store events. By registering for this event, you are agreeing to refrain from engaging in inappropriate behavior and harassment of any kind throughout the course of this event (i.e. racial slurs, profanity, hate speech, spam comments, etc.). Please note that any participants who engage in inappropriate behavior or harassment of any kind will be immediately ejected from this event.