Robin LaFevers - Courting Darkness (in-conv. w/Martha Brockenbrough)

Join us for this in-conversation event with bestselling novelists Robin LaFevers and Martha Brockenbrough

First in a duology, this darkly thrilling page-turner set in the world of the best-selling His Fair Assassin series is perfect for fans of THRONE OF GLASS, RED QUEEN, and GAME OF THRONES. Told in alternating perspectives, when Sybella discovers there is another trained assassin from St. Mortain's convent deep undercover in the French court, she must use every skill in her arsenal to navigate the deadly royal politics and find her sister in arms before her time--and that of the newly crowned queen--runs out. 

When Sybella accompanies the Duchess to France, she expects trouble, but she isn't expecting a deadly trap. Surrounded by enemies both known and unknown, Sybella searches for the undercover assassins from the convent of St. Mortain who were placed in the French court years ago. 

Genevieve has been undercover for so many years, she no longer knows who she is or what she's supposed to be fighting for. When she discovers a hidden prisoner who may be of importance, she takes matters into her own hands. 

As these two worlds collide, the fate of the Duchess, Brittany, and everything Sybella and Genevieve have come to love hangs in the balance.

"Sharp and breathless, full of anger and strength. May the sequel hurry." -- Kirkus, starred review 

"A first-purchase gem of historical fantasy for high school and public libraries that will delight fans and engage newcomers." -- School Library Journal, starred review 

"LaFevers' sharply drawn characters, pointed storytelling, and intricate takes on political intrigue will once again have readers turning pages.... [T]here are few writers as fine at their craft as LaFevers."--Booklist, starred review 

"LaFevers's blood-soaked, machination-riddled tale captivates as its fierce, passionate, intelligent female characters examine issues of agency and empowerment, freedom, and sisterhood."-- Publishers Weekly, starred review 

"LaFevers yet again skillfully pulls from the history of the 15th century French-Breton War to create a richly developed world of political intrigue, while casting it with deeply relatable and fully fleshed out characters." --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Robin LaFevers, author of the New York Times best-selling His Fair Assassin books, was raised on fairy tales, Bulfinch's mythology, and nineteenth-century poetry. It is not surprising that she grew up to be a hopeless romantic. She was lucky enough to find her one true love, and is living happily ever after with him in California. Visit her online at robinlafevers.com and on Twitter @RLLaFevers.

Martha Brockenbrough (rhymes with broken toe) won a Pacific Northwest Bookseller Association Award and a Washington State Book Award for her novel THE GAME OF LOVE AND DEATH. She was also a finalist for the Kirkus Prize. Her debut novel, DEVINE INTERVENTION, was one of Kirkus Reviews Top 100 books for teens in 2012, and was a Kansas State Reading Circle selection. A faculty member at Vermont College of Fine Arts and blogger for the Society of Children's Book Writers & Illustrators,* she's also  the founder of National Grammar Day. She lives in Seattle with her family.

Courting Darkness (Courting Darkness duology) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780544991194
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - February 5th, 2019

Staff Pick Badge
Grave Mercy: His Fair Assassin, Book I Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781328567659
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - October 2nd, 2018

Dark Triumph (His Fair Assassin #2) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781328567666
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - October 2nd, 2018

Unpresidented: A Biography of Donald Trump Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250308030
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Feiwel & Friends - December 4th, 2018

Alexander Hamilton, Revolutionary Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250123190
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Feiwel & Friends - September 5th, 2017

The Game of Love and Death Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780545924221
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Scholastic Inc. - August 30th, 2016