Maya Prasad with Martha Brockenbrough, Jake Arlow, and Joy McCullough — 'Drizzle, Dreams, and Lovestruck Things'

"The ultimate love letter to the Pacific Northwest. . . A joyous celebration of family and first love.” —Rachel Lynn Solomon

 

Third Place Books welcomes local author Maya Prasad to our Lake Forest Park store! Prasad will be presenting the launch of her debut YA novel Drizzle, Dreams, and Lovestruck Things, in a panel celebration with local authors Martha BrockenbroughJake Maia Arlow, and Joy McCullough. This event is free and open to the public. Registration is required in advance.

Copies of Drizzle, Dreams, and Lovestruck Things will be available for purchase at the store. This event will include a public signing and time for audience Q&A. Sustain our author series by purchasing a copy of the featured book!

Click here for more about our COVID-19 policies for in-person events.

Having trouble accessing Eventbrite? Click here.

 

Tickets available now

for this in-person event

 

About Drizzle, Dreams, and Lovestruck Things. . .

Four sisters, four seasons, four flavors of romance.

The Singh sisters grew up helping their father navigate the bustle of the Songbird Inn. Nestled on dreamy and drizzly Orcas Island in the Pacific Northwest, the inn's always been warm and cozy and filled with interesting guests—the perfect home. But things are about to heat up now that the Songbird has been named the Most Romantic Inn in America.

Nidhi has everything planned out—until a storm brings a wayward tree crashing into her life one autumn . . . and along with it, an intriguing construction worker and a yearning for her motherland. Suddenly, she's questioning everything she thought she wanted.

Avani can't sit still. If she does, her grief for Pop, their dad's late husband, will overwhelm her. So she keeps moving as much as she can, planning an elaborate Winter Ball in Pop's memory. Until a blizzard traps her in a barn with the boy she accidentally stood up and has been actively avoiding ever since.

Sirisha loves seeing the world through her camera, but her shyness prevents her from stepping out from behind the lens. Talking to girls is such a struggle! When a pretty actress comes to the Songbird with her theater troupe, spring has sprung for Sirisha—if only she can find the words.

Rani is a hopeless romantic through and through. After gently nudging her sisters to open their hearts, she is convinced it's finally her turn to find love. When two potential suitors float in on a summer breeze, Rani is swept up in grandeur to match her wildest Bollywood dreams. But which boy is the one she's meant to be with?

Ultimately, the magic of the Songbird Inn leads the tight-knit Singh sisters to new passions and breathtaking kisses—and to unearth the truest versions of themselves.

Perfect for fans of Jenny Han's To All the Boys I've Loved Before, this sparkling YA rom-com celebrates sisterhood, family, and the love all around us.

 

Praise for Drizzle, Dreams, and Lovestruck Things. . .

"A gorgeously written novel about leading with our wild hearts, it reveals the kind of love that helps cultivate our dreams is the ultimate love of all."
Anuradha D. Rajurkar, author of American Betiya

"As fun, fresh, and sweet as lavender gulab jamun, Drizzle, Dreams, and Lovestruck Things serves up a charming new take on tradition, the search for love in all its flavors, and self-discovery alongside the ups and downs of sisterhood. Book your room at the Songbird Inn today!"
Shveta Thakrar, author of Star Daughter

"Prasad's prose leaps off the page . . . read this book whatever the weather."
Sarena and Sasha Nanua, coauthors of Sisters of the Snake and Daughters of the Dawn

“With its moody, romantic Orcas Island setting, Drizzle, Dreams, and Lovestruck Things is the ultimate love letter to the Pacific Northwest. There’s a soft place in my heart for the Singh sisters, all of them vivid and passionate and dreaming wild, wonderful dreams. A joyous celebration of family and first love.”
Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of See You Yesterday


Maya Prasad is a South Asian American author, a Caltech graduate, and a former software engineer. She currently resides in the Pacific Northwest, where she enjoys hiking, canoeing, and raising her budding bookworm kiddo. Drizzle, Dreams, and Lovestruck Things is her debut YA novel, to be published by Disney-Hyperion in October 2022. Visit her website www.mayaprasad.com or find her on Instagram and Twitter @msmayaprasad.

Martha Brockenbrough graduated from Stanford University, where she studied English and Classics and was the editor in chief of the Stanford Daily. She has worked as a journalist, a teacher, the editor of MSN.com, a question writer for Cranium and Trivial Pursuit, and now teaches at Vermont College of Fine Arts, where she serves as co-chair of the Writing for Children Young Adults department. A lifelong Seattle resident, Martha has written two books for adults and twenty-one books for young readers.

Jake Maia Arlow is a Stonewall Honor author, podcast producer, and bagel connoisseur. She studied evolutionary biology and creative writing (not as different as you might think) at Barnard College. She lives with her girlfriend and their loud cat in the Pacific Northwest. Her first novel, Almost Flying, was a Stonewall Honor book and Barnes & Noble Children’s Prize Shortlist selection, and her debut YA novel, How to Excavate a Heart, releases on November 1, 2022. (Photo credit: Torrin Nelson)

Joy McCullough’s debut young adult novel Blood Water Paint (Penguin) won the Washington State and Pacific Northwest books awards, as well as honors such as the National Book Award longlist, finalist for the ALA Morris Award, a Publishers Weekly Flying Start and four starred reviews. Her debut middle grade novel, A Field Guide to Getting Lost (Simon & Schuster) was a Junior Library Guild Selection. She writes books and plays from her home in the Seattle area, where she lives with her husband and two children. She studied theater at Northwestern University, fell in love with her husband atop a Guatemalan volcano, and now spends her days surrounded by books and kids and chocolate.


Want a signed edition of the featured book, but can't make it to the event? Order through our website or over the phone, and write your request for a signature or personalization in the comments field at checkout. Please call the hosting store if you're placing your order within 24 hours of the event.


Third Place Books Events Code of Conduct: Third Place Books is committed to ensuring the safety and well-being of event attendees and guest authors, during both online and in-store events. By registering for this event, you are agreeing to refrain from engaging in inappropriate behavior and harassment of any kind throughout the course of this event (i.e. racial slurs, profanity, hate speech, spam comments, etc.). Please note that any participants who engage in inappropriate behavior or harassment of any kind will be immediately ejected from the event.

For media inquiries, access inquiries, or questions about our Covid-19 policies, please email events@thirdplacebooks.com or call our Lake Forest Park store at (206) 366-3311.