Margaret Owen - The Merciful Crow (in-conversation w/Kendare Blake)

Debut author Margaret Owen crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, survival, and sacrifice--perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo. Join us in-conversation with #1 New York Times best-selling author of novels and short fiction, Kendare Blake!

One way or another, we always feed the crows.

A future chieftain

Fie abides by one rule: look after your own. Her Crow caste of undertakers and mercy-killers takes more abuse than coin, but when they're called to collect royal dead, she's hoping they'll find the payout of a lifetime.

A fugitive prince

When Crown Prince Jasimir turns out to have faked his death, Fie's ready to cut her losses--and perhaps his throat. But he offers a wager that she can't refuse: protect him from a ruthless queen, and he'll protect the Crows when he reigns.

A too-cunning bodyguard

Hawk warrior Tavin has always put Jas's life before his, magically assuming the prince's appearance and shadowing his every step. But what happens when Tavin begins to want something to call his own?

"Rich, harrowing, and unafraid to tackle discrimination--perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Tomi Adeyemi."--Kirkus, Starred Review 

"A passionate blend of adventure and intrigue wrapped around strong worldbuilding... Memorable and filled with diverse characters with fluid sexualities and identities."--PW, Starred Review

Margaret Owen was born and raised at the end of the Oregon Trail, and now lives and writes in Seattle, WA, while negotiating a long-term hostage situation with her two monstrous cats. In her free time, she enjoys exploring ill-advised travel destinations and raising money for social justice nonprofits through her illustrations.The Merciful Crow is Owen's debut novel.

The Merciful Crow (The Merciful Crow Series #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250191922
Availability: Coming soon - available for pre-order now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - July 30th, 2019

Three Dark Crowns Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062385444
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: HarperTeen - April 3rd, 2018

One Dark Throne (Three Dark Crowns #2) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062385475
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: HarperTeen - April 2nd, 2019

Two Dark Reigns (Three Dark Crowns #3) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062686145
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: HarperTeen - September 4th, 2018

Five Dark Fates (Three Dark Crowns #4) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062686176
Availability: Coming soon - available for pre-order now
Published: HarperTeen - September 3rd, 2019

Queens of Fennbirn Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062748287
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: HarperTeen - April 3rd, 2018