Livestream Event: Morgan Jerkins, in conversation with Rachel Cargle & Tyrese Coleman - Caul Baby (Tickets Required!)

This is a virtual event, taking place via Crowdcast! Tickets are required - Purchase Tickets Here!

 

Third Place Books is thrilled to join our bookselling friends around the country, and HarperCollins Publishing, to present an evening with Morgan Jerkins, bestselling author of This Will Be My Undoing. TICKET INCLUDES ONE COPY OF CAUL BABY AND ONE SIGNED BOOKPLATE, WHILE SUPPLIES LAST!

 

New York Times bestselling author Morgan Jerkins makes her fiction debut with this electrifying novel, for fans of Ta-Nehisi Coates and Jacqueline Woodson, that brings to life one powerful and enigmatic family in a tale rife with secrets, betrayal, intrigue, and magic.



Laila desperately wants to become a mother, but each of her previous pregnancies has ended in heartbreak. This time has to be different, so she turns to the Melancons, an old and powerful Harlem family known for their caul, a precious layer of skin that is the secret source of their healing power.

 

When a deal for Laila to acquire a piece of caul falls through, she is heartbroken, but when the child is stillborn, she is overcome with grief and rage. What she doesn't know is that a baby will soon be delivered in her family--by her niece, Amara, an ambitious college student--and delivered to the Melancons to raise as one of their own. Hallow is special: she's born with a caul, and their matriarch, Maman, predicts the girl will restore the family's prosperity.

 

Growing up, Hallow feels that something in her life is not right. Did Josephine, the woman she calls mother, really bring her into the world? Why does her cousin Helena get to go to school and roam the streets of New York freely while she's confined to the family's decrepit brownstone?

 

As the Melancons' thirst to maintain their status grows, Amara, now a successful lawyer running for district attorney, looks for a way to avenge her longstanding grudge against the family. When mother and daughter cross paths, Hallow will be forced to decide where she truly belongs.

 

Engrossing, unique, and page-turning, Caul Baby illuminates the search for familial connection, the enduring power of tradition, and the dark corners of the human heart.

 

Morgan Jerkins is a senior editor at Medium's ZORA magazine. Her work has been featured in the New Yorker, Vogue, the New York Times, the Atlantic, Elle, Rolling Stone, Lenny Letter, and BuzzFeed, among many other outlets. She lives in New York.

 

Rachel Cargle is an Akron, Ohio born public academic, writer and philanthropic innovator. Her upcoming book with The Dial Press, I Don’t Want Your Love and Light, examines the intersection of race, feminism, and womanhood and how we are in relationship with ourselves and one another. Rachel is the Founder and President of The Loveland Foundation, Inc., her non-profit offering free therapy to Black women and girls. Rachel recently launched The Great Unlearn, a self-paced, self-priced community utilizing Rachel’s monthly curated social syllabi. As a gift to her younger self, Rachel created Elizabeth’s Bookshop & Writing Centre, currently an online independent bookstore and innovative literacy center designed to amplify, celebrate and honor the work of writers who are often excluded from traditional cultural, social and academic canons. Rachel has been featured on TED X and Red Table Talk, is a regular contributor to Harper’s Bazaar and has been featured in The Washington Post, Glamour Magazine UK, Essence magazine, Refinery 29, Forbes and The New Yorker Magazine.

 

Tyrese Coleman is the author of How to Sit, a 2019 Pen Open Book Award finalist published with Mason Jar Press in 2018. She is also the writer of the forthcoming book, Spectacle, with One World, an imprint of Penguin Random House. Writer, wife, mother, attorney, and writing instructor, she is a contributing editor at Split Lip Magazine and occasionally teaches at American University. Her essays and stories have appeared in several publications and noted in Best American Essays and the Pushcart Anthology. She is an alumni of the Writing Program at Johns Hopkins University. Find her at tyresecoleman.com or on twitter @tylachelleco. 

 

Third Place Books Events Code of Conduct: Third Place Books is committed to ensuring the safety and well-being of event attendees and guest authors, during both online and in-store events. By purchasing a ticket for this event, you are agreeing to refrain from engaging in inappropriate behavior and harassment of any kind throughout the course of this event (i.e. racial slurs, profanity, hate speech, spam comments, etc.). Please note that any participants who engage in inappropriate behavior or harassment of any kind will be immediately ejected from this event, and will not receive a refund.