Live on Zoom! Tori Sharp & Ira Marcks - Just Pretend & Shark Summer

This is a virtual event, taking place via Zoom Webinar! Register for this livestream event here!

 

Fans of Real Friends and Be Prepared will love Just Pretend, an energetic, affecting graphic memoir, in which a young girl uses her active imagination to navigate middle school as well as the fallout from her parents' divorce.

 

Tori has never lived in just one world.

 

Since her parents' divorce, she's lived in both her mom's house and her dad's new apartment. And in both places, no matter how hard she tries, her family still treats her like a little kid. Then there's school, where friendships old and new are starting to feel more and more out of her hands.

 

Thankfully, she has books-and writing. And now the stories she makes up in her head just might save her when everything else around her--friendships, school, family--is falling apart.

 

Author Tori Sharp takes us with her on a journey through the many commonplace but complex issues of fractured families, as well as the beautiful fantasy narrative that helps her cope, gorgeously illustrated and full of magic, fairies, witches and lost and found friendships.

 

When a Hollywood film crew arrives on Martha's Vineyard with a mechanical shark and a youth film contest boasting a huge cash prize, disgraced pitcher Gayle "Blue Streak" Briar sees a chance to turn a bad season into the best summer ever in Shark Summer. After recruiting aspiring cinematographer Elijah Jones and moody director Maddie Grey, Gayle and her crew set out to uncover the truth of the island's own phantom shark and win the prize money. But these unlikely friends are about to discover what happens when you turn your camera toward the bad things lurking below the surface.

 

Tori Sharp is a Seattle-based author-illustrator and swing and blues dancer with a BFA in sequential art from SCAD. You can find her online at www.noveltori.com and on Twitter @noveltori. Just Pretend is her debut graphic novel.

 

Ira Marcks is a cartoonist living in Upstate New York with his wife, two cats, a dog, and lots of books he's been meaning to read. His love for ancient magic and possible futures has led him to create a warehouse of esoteric objects for the Hugo Award-winning magazine Weird Tales and to tell stories about villainous technology for the European Research Council. Shark Summer is his debut graphic novel.

 

Third Place Books Events Code of Conduct: Third Place Books is committed to ensuring the safety and well-being of event attendees and guest authors, during both online and in-store events. By registering for this event, you are agreeing to refrain from engaging in inappropriate behavior and harassment of any kind throughout the course of this event (i.e. racial slurs, profanity, hate speech, spam comments, etc.). Please note that any participants who engage in inappropriate behavior or harassment of any kind will be immediately ejected from this event.

  • Just Pretend Cover Image
    $12.99
    ISBN: 9780316538855
    Availability: Coming soon - available for pre-order now
    Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 18th, 2021

  • Shark Summer Cover Image
    $12.99
    ISBN: 9780316461443
    Availability: Coming soon - available for pre-order now
    Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 25th, 2021