Lily LaMotte with Diana Ma — 'Unhappy Camper'

From the acclaimed creators of Measuring Up comes a graphic novel about two sisters—one who embraces her Taiwanese culture and one eager to do away with it—who rebuild their bond at a Taiwanese American summer camp.

 

Third Place Books is thrilled to welcome back local author and bookseller favorite Lily LaMotte to our Lake Forest Park store! LaMotte will be discussing her new middle grade graphic novel, Unhappy Camper, and will be joined in conversation by local author Diana Ma. This event is free and open to the public.

For important updates, registration is highly recommended in advance. This event will include a public signing and time for audience Q&A. Sustain our author series by purchasing a copy of the featured book! Readers of all ages welcome!

Having trouble accessing Eventbrite? Click here.

 

Event RSVP icon

Tickets available now

for this in-person event

 

About Unhappy Camper. . .

From the acclaimed creators of Measuring Up comes a sophomore graphic novel about two sisters who rebuild their bond at a Taiwanese American summer camp. Perfect for fans of Be Prepared and Sisters.

Would you rather blend in or stand out?

Claire and Michelle used to be best friends, but now the two sisters couldn’t be more different. Michelle will do anything to fit in, even if it means denying her Taiwanese culture. Whereas Claire is proud of who she is. So much so that she decides to become a junior counselor at a Taiwanese American summer camp.  

Sensing a rift between the two, their parents decide to send them both off to camp, much to Michelle’s dismay. As summer continues, both sisters learn more about their culture and each other. But Michelle must eventually decide to either embrace her culture and her family or assimilate into the popular group at school. Which will she choose?

From Lily LaMotte and Ann Xu, the brilliant creators of Measuring Up, comes a heartwarming story about the importance of being true to yourself and standing up for what you believe in. 

 

Praise for Unhappy Camper. . .

"Xu’s clean, two-dimensional linework complements Lamotte’s winsome story showcasing the diversity of Taiwanese art (opera, glove puppets, folk songs, calligraphy) and toothsome culinary treats like han tsî muê (sweet potato porridge) and shaved ice with grass jelly in this feast for the stomach and the spirit." —Publishers Weekly


Lily LaMotte is the debut author of the middle grade graphic novel Measuring Up from HarperCollins/HarperAlley and her debut picture book Chloe’s Lunar New Year. Her next middle grade graphic novel Unhappy Camper is forthcoming from HarperAlley. When she isn’t writing, she’s cooking up new recipes and supporting her library system as a KCLS Foundation board member. Visit her at www.lilylamotte.com. (Photo credit: Lucien LaMotte)

Diana Ma is a Chinese American author who writes young adult and middle grade books that feature Asian American heroes. Diana was a 2019 We Need Diverse Books mentee with Swati Avashti and a 2021 Highlights Foundation Muslim Storytellers Fellow. Diana lives in a suburb of Seattle and teaches composition, creative writing, literature, and humanities at North Seattle College.


Want a signed edition of the featured book, but can't make it to the event? Order through our website or over the phone, and write your request for a signature or personalization in the comments field at checkout. Please call the hosting store if you're placing your order within 24 hours of the event.


Third Place Books Events Code of Conduct: Third Place Books is committed to ensuring the safety and well-being of event attendees and guest authors, during both online and in-store events. By registering for this event, you are agreeing to refrain from engaging in inappropriate behavior and harassment of any kind throughout the course of this event (i.e. racial slurs, profanity, hate speech, spam comments, etc.). Please note that any participants who engage in inappropriate behavior or harassment of any kind will be immediately ejected from the event.

For media inquiries, access inquiries, or questions about our Covid-19 policies, please email events@thirdplacebooks.com or call our Lake Forest Park store at (206) 366-3311.