Hamish Steele presents 'DeadEndia: The Divine Order'

Eisner Award–winning creator Hamish Steele’s DeadEndia series is Steven Universe meets Adventure Time for fans of Scott Pilgrim, Rick and Morty, and Adventure Time


Third Place Books is delighted to welcome illustrator and animation director Hamish Steele to our Lake Forest Park store! Steele will be discussing the third book in his DeadEndia series, DeadEndia: The Divine Order, where the beloved Barney, Norma, and friends team up with unlikely heroes to fight a battle for the fate of the universe, all while dealing with their greatest challenge of all: their love lives. This event is free and open to the public.

For important updates, registration is highly recommended in advance. This event will include a public signing and time for audience Q&A. Sustain our author series by purchasing a copy of the featured book!

Having trouble accessing Eventbrite? Click here.

 

Event RSVP icon

Tickets available now

for this in-person event

 

About DeadEndia: The Divine Order. . .

In this diverse young adult graphic novel, third in the DeadEndia trilogy, Barney, Norma, and friends team up with unlikely heroes to fight a battle for the fate of the universe, all while dealing with their greatest challenge of all: their love lives.

The battle between angels and demons rages on, and Courtney finds themselves restored to former glory in the realm of the angels with a new mission: bring about a new Divine Order and create a fourteenth plane of existence to keep the demons at bay. On the seventh plane, known to us as Earth, Norma Khan and Barney Guttman have allied with the demons in a search for both freedom and peace. There’s just one thing standing in their way: the Guttman family reunion. Badyah has joined the resistance as well, honing her martial arts skills and getting ready to protect Norma in battle.

But Pael, the Divine’s lead angel, has tricks up their sleeve that throw everything into chaos as Norma, Barney, and Badyah learn the truth behind everything. The three friends struggle to stop Pael before their lives are changed forever, and a familiar friend returns with a power that just might save them all in this stunning conclusion to the DeadEndia graphic novel series.

Part workplace comedy, part supernatural horror adventure, with a splash of LGBTQ+ romance, The Divine Order is perfect for fans of author Hamish Steele’s Netflix original TV series Dead End: Paranormal Park who are in search of more adventures, for graphic novel lovers who want more diversity in their reads, or for anyone who has finished The Watcher’s Test and The Broken Halo and is ready for the final entry in the zany, creative, and laugh-out-loud funny world of DeadEndia.

 

Praise for DeadEndia: The Divine Order. . .

“The story never loses sight of the characters who drive the story, and the beautiful art, revealing dialogue, and careful worldbuilding together contribute to creating a well-earned impact. A heartfelt culmination of the themes, lore, and relationships among a found family that’s fighting to save reality.”
Kirkus (starred review

“It’s an action-packed finale for the book series and wraps things up in a satisfying conclusion.”
GeekDa

“Steele’s playful, cartoonish style and beautiful colors create a world that will get you instantly hooked. The character designs are refreshing and Barney in particular is a delight; it’s great to see a trans masc character not on the hypermasculine end of the gender spectrum and not drawn as perfectly passing at all times.”
—Paste Magazine, “20 Best Kids Comics of 2018

“DeadEndia is immediately appealing with its colorful art, unique setting, and funny jokes.”
—Molly Knox Ostertag, creator of The Witch Boy

“Heart-warming, heartbreaking, heart-pounding, and heartfelt!”
—Marika McCoola, author of Baba Yaga’s Assistant


Hamish Steele (he/they) is a freelance animation director and illustrator who grew up surrounded by legends, myths, and folktales. Since graduating from Kingston University in 2013, Hamish has worked for the BBC, Cartoon Network, Disney, Nickelodeon, among others. He is the creator of and showrunner for the Netflix series Dead End: Paranormal Park, based on his graphic novel series, DeadEndia, and the Eisner Award-winning creator of the graphic novel, Pantheon. Hamish currently lives in London and can be found online at https://hamishsteele.co.uk/.


Want a signed edition of the featured book, but can't make it to the event? Order through our website or over the phone, and write your request for a signature or personalization in the comments field at checkout. Please call the hosting store if you're placing your order within 24 hours of the event.


Third Place Books Events Code of Conduct: Third Place Books is committed to ensuring the safety and well-being of event attendees and guest authors, during both online and in-store events. By registering for this event, you are agreeing to refrain from engaging in inappropriate behavior and harassment of any kind throughout the course of this event (i.e. racial slurs, profanity, hate speech, spam comments, etc.). Please note that any participants who engage in inappropriate behavior or harassment of any kind will be immediately ejected from the event.

For media inquiries, access inquiries, or questions about our Covid-19 policies, please email events@thirdplacebooks.com or call our Lake Forest Park store at (206) 366-3311.