Black Lit Book Club - American Street

Welcome back to the Black Lit Book Club, hosted by Shannon Hanks-Mackey, managing editor of the Black Scholar journal. Gathering on the last Tuesday of each month, readers will explore the works of black authors from Africa and across the diaspora. This is a book club intended for black, indigenous, and other people of color (BIPOC).

Book club titles will not be limited to any one genre, and monthly picks may be pulled from fiction, history, mystery, graphica, sci-fi/fantasy, young adult, poetry, and more. This month's book selection is American Street by Ibi Zoboi.

All monthly book club titles are discounted 20% for the month prior to the book club meeting. No purchase required. Drink specials (both alcoholic and non) are available from Raconteur during book club meetings. 

The bookstore is on a street-level floor with wide aisles and no stairs to meeting area or to the wheelchair accessible restroom. There are two accessible parking spaces available near the front entrance (permit required). We ask that all attendees help make this a fragrance-free zone by not wearing scented products to the meeting.

 

New York Times Notable Book * Publishers Weekly Flying Start * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 (Top of the List winner) * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * BookPage Best YA Book of the Year

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, EverythingBone Gap; and All American Boys.

In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life.

But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.

Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

Staff Pick Badge
American Street Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062473059
Availability: On our shelves now at one or more of our stores
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 2018