Golden Girl (MP3 CD)

Golden Girl Cover Image
$41.99
Unavailable at this time.

Description


From the award-winning, ALA Notable author of Unsettled and Lailah's Lunchbox, this is a captivating coming-of-age middle grade novel in verse about seventh grader Aafiyah Qamar, a Pakistani American girl who hatches a special plan to help her family but finds that doing what's right isn't always easy. For fans of The Thing About Jellyfish and Clean Getaway, this is a heartfelt, soul-searching story with laughter, hope, and lessons learned.

Seventh grader Aafiyah loves playing tennis, reading Weird but True facts, and hanging out with her best friend, Zaina. However, Aafiyah has a bad habit that troubles her--she's drawn to pretty things and can't help but occasionally borrow them.

But when her father is falsely accused of a crime he hasn't committed and gets taken in by authorities, Aafiyah knows she needs to do something to help. When she brainstorms a way to bring her father back, she turns to her Weird but True facts and devises the perfect plan.

But what if her plan means giving in to her bad habit, the one she's been trying to stop? Aafiyah wants to reunite her family but finds that maybe her plan isn't so perfect after all. . .

A story about family, friendship, change, and hope. --Kirkus

In Aafiyah, Faruqi creates a relatable but flawed protagonist whose road to redemption makes for an engaging, warmhearted story. --Booklist

Much like in her previous novel Unsettled, Faruqi's elegantly crafted verse illuminates a Muslim family navigating and ultimately transcending domestic challenges. --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

This story has] a well-characterized, flawed heroine and a lot of heart. --Publishers Weekly

Supplemental enhancement PDF accompanies the audiobook.



Product Details
ISBN: 9798200858248
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: February 22nd, 2022
Language: English