The Reunion (Hardcover)

The Reunion By Kit Frick Cover Image
$19.99
On our shelves now:
Lake Forest Park (order processing takes 24 hours)
2 on hand, as of Jun 18 2:35pm
(YA-FICTION)

Description


From the author of I Killed Zoe Spanos comes a “suspenseful and atmospheric” (Kirkus Reviews) YA thriller in the vein of The White Lotus and Karen M. McManus’s The Cousins following a doomed family reunion at a posh Caribbean resort, where old grudges and dangerous secrets culminate in murder.

Eleven Mayweathers went on vacation. Ten came home.

It’s been years since the fragmented Mayweather clan was all in one place, but the engagement of Addison and Mason’s mom to the dad of their future stepbrother, Theo, brings the whole family to sunny Cancún, Mexico, for winter break. Add cousin Natalia to the mix, and it doesn’t take long for tempers to fray and tensions to rise. A week of forced family “fun” reveals that everyone has something to hide, and as secrets bubble to the surface, no one is safe from the fallout. By the end of the week, one member of the reunion party will be dead—and everyone’s a suspect:
The peacekeeper: Addison needs a better hiding place.
The outsider: Theo just wants to mend fences.
The romantic: Natalia doesn’t want to talk about the past.
The hothead: Mason needs to keep his temper under control.

It started as a week in paradise meant to bring them together. But the Mayweathers are about to learn the hard way that family bonding can be deadly.

About the Author


Kit Frick is a MacDowell Fellow and International Thriller Writers Award finalist from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. She studied creative writing at Sarah Lawrence College and received her MFA from Syracuse University. She is the author of the young adult thrillers Before We Were Sorry (originally published as See All the Stars), All Eyes on UsI Killed Zoe SpanosVery Bad People, and The Reunion, as well as the poetry collection A Small Rising Up in the LungsThe Split is her first novel for adults. Kit loves a good mystery but has only ever killed her characters. Honest. Visit Kit online at KitFrick.com and on Instagram @KitFrick.

Praise For…


"A suspenseful and atmospheric story of a family with a messy history."
Kirkus

* "During an elaborate vacation, a family’s secrets bring down the mood—and result in a murder—in this dynamic drama....Ample red herrings and eye-popping twists further cultivate this compulsive read. Through nuanced character relationships that heighten the tension, Frick handily explores themes surrounding gender roles, loyalty, sexuality, and toxic masculinity in this cleverly layered mystery."
Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Fans of The White Lotus rejoice: Kit Frick's latest is a twisty tale of a family filled with long-held secrets set against the backdrop of a luxurious vacation resort. Once you start reading, you're not going to be able to put this one down."
— Liz Lawson, New York Times bestselling author of The Lucky Ones and The Agathas

"A riveting, clever, and masterfully plotted thriller about a family vacation that goes very, very wrong. This is a stay-up-all-night-no-regrets read."
— Kathleen Glasgow, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces and coauthor of The Agathas and The Night in Question

"A juicy nail-biter about a family vacation gone so very wrong. Kit Frick’s latest thriller is jam-packed with so much delicious drama, and will keep you guessing until the very end."
— Jessica Goodman, New York Times bestselling author of The Legacies and They Wish They Were Us

The Reunion is a tense, intricately constructed tale that explores sun-drenched shores and the dark corners of the human heart. Its vivid characters and web of family secrets kept me guessing to the last page.
— Kate Alice Marshall, author of Rules for Vanishing and What Lies in the Woods

"A sun-drenched look at the danger of loyalty, love, and liars."
— Rebecca Barrow, author of Bad Things Happen Here


Product Details
ISBN: 9781665921466
ISBN-10: 1665921463
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Publication Date: August 29th, 2023
Pages: 320
Language: English