Murder of an Amish Bridegroom (An Amish Seamstress Mystery) (Hardcover)

Murder of an Amish Bridegroom (An Amish Seamstress Mystery) By Patricia Johns Cover Image
$29.99
Out of stock, usually available in 3-10 days

Description


The quiet Amish lifestyle isn't all that it seems in this debut cozy mystery series, for fans of Amanda Flower and Wanda E. Brunstetter.

Petunia Yoder is Blueberry, Pennsylvania’s youngest old maid, at twenty-two years of age, and completely unmarriageable. But she’s determined to celebrate her friends’ weddings with joy and a full heart. Unfortunately, Petunia’s best friend, Eden Beiler, is playing a dangerous game with a man who is ruining her reputation.

Ike Smoker is the community’s iceman—the one who cuts, stores, and sells the ice—and when Petunia discovers him dead with an ice pick in his chest, Eden is found on the scene with blood on her hands. Homicide detective Asher Nate is new to the area, and he has a challenge on his hands. The Amish community sticks close together, and he doesn’t understand the subtleties and nuances of the clues he uncovers. He needs an Amish interpreter, and he asks Petunia if she’ll help. In a bid to keep her best friend out of prison, she agrees.

The community is filled with people who had good reason to hate Ike Smoker, especially as Petunia and Asher begin to uncover his secrets. Was someone trying to protect their family's reputation? Or to exact revenge for a sin buried deep in the past?

There’s a litany of damning clues that litters the ground—and if Petunia and Asher can’t come up with the truth, they could end up as the next ones on the killer’s list.

About the Author


Patricia Johns was born in Alberta, Canada, and moved with her family all over the country, as well as some parts of the US. She attended college at the University of Toronto, where she obtained her Hon. BA in English literature. She began pursuing her writing career then while working part-time jobs in Toronto. She met her husband when she was twenty-five and got married shortly afterward. They moved together to Alberta, Canada, and their son was born a few years later.

Praise For…


Praise for Murder of an Amish Bridegroom:
“Plenty of suspects and a burgeoning relationship between the English detective and the Amish heroine make for a fun read.”
Kirkus Reviews

“When Petunia Yoder agrees to help homicide detective Asher Nate search for who killed Ike Smoker, the town of Blueberry’s ice man, she uncovers the truth about more than just the murderer. She also learns that things are not always what they seem. Murder of an Amish Bridegroom by Patricia Johns is full of twists and turns that will keep readers guessing until the last page. Fans of Amish fiction and also fans of engaging cozy mystery will be left wanting more!”
—Amy Clipston, bestselling author of The Heart’s Shelter

“Patricia Johns has woven a tale rich in intrigue and vibrant cultural detail that kept me turning the pages to see what her clever, outspoken heroine would do next. I can’t wait for the next book!”
—Dana R. Lynn, USA Today bestselling author of the Amish Country Justice series

“A compelling mystery filled with plot twists, memorable characters and wonderful insights into the Amish way of life. Can’t wait for the next book in this new series.”
—Patricia Davids, USA Today bestselling author of The Matchmakers of Harts Haven
​series

“Don’t miss this one! With a delightful Amish sleuth and a dedicated Englisch cop, this mystery will draw you into the community of Blueberry while you chase the clues along with Petunia and Asher. Can’t wait for their next crime-solving adventure.”
—Jo Ann Brown, Publishers Weekly bestselling author of A Wish for Home

Murder of an Amish Bridegroom is a delightful cozy series debut. I fell in love with the main character, Petunia, right away, and I loved all the potential suspects that kept me guessing throughout the story! With so many Amish books to choose from, you’ll want to put this one on your ’to be read’ list. This was a favorite for me in this genre.”
—Beth Wiseman, bestselling author for HarperCollins Christian Publishing


Product Details
ISBN: 9781639105328
ISBN-10: 1639105328
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: December 5th, 2023
Pages: 272
Language: English
Series: An Amish Seamstress Mystery