Be Prepared (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Be Prepared Cover Image
By Vera Brosgol, Vera Brosgol (Illustrator)
$12.99
On our shelves now:
Lake Forest Park
12 on hand, as of Dec 16 4:45am
(CH-GRAPHICA)
Ravenna
3 on hand, as of Dec 16 4:46am
(YA-GRAPHICA)
Seward Park
5 on hand, as of Dec 16 4:46am
(CH-GRAPHICA)

Staff Reviews


I loved Be Prepared. It brought me back to summers when I was a kid. It deals with important stuff in such a wonderful way. Vera struggles to fit in at school. She hopes that summer camp with other kids who have the same Russian background as she does will be help her finally feel like she belongs somewhere. Of course things don't go as planned and she has difficulty navigating new friends and what it really means to be a friend. We've all stepped into these muddy waters and it was such a refreshing and sweet look at ways to overcome struggles with belonging. Young, old, and everyone in between will fall in love with Vera's big heart.

— From Patti H.

Description


"Beautifully drawn, brutally funny, brilliantly honest. Vera is such a good cartoonist I almost can’t stand it.” —Raina Telgemeier, author of Smile

In Be Prepared, all Vera wants to do is fit in—but that’s not easy for a Russian girl in the suburbs. Her friends live in fancy houses and their parents can afford to send them to the best summer camps. Vera’s single mother can’t afford that sort of luxury, but there's one summer camp in her price range—Russian summer camp.

Vera is sure she's found the one place she can fit in, but camp is far from what she imagined. And nothing could prepare her for all the "cool girl" drama, endless Russian history lessons, and outhouses straight out of nightmares!

About the Author


Vera Brosgol was born in Moscow, Russia, in 1984 and moved to the United States when she was five. Her first graphic novel, Anya's Ghost, was published in 2011 by First Second. Her picture book Leave Me Alone! was a 2017 Caldecott Honor book. She was a storyboard artist at Laika Inc. for ten years, working on films including Coraline and Kubo and the Two Strings. She lives in Portland, Oregon, and at last count has knit twenty-five sweaters.

Vera Brosgol was born in Moscow, Russia, in 1984 and moved to the United States when she was five. Her first graphic novel, Anya's Ghost, was published in 2011 by First Second. Her picture book Leave Me Alone! was a 2017 Caldecott Honor book. She was a storyboard artist at Laika Inc. for ten years, working on films including Coraline and Kubo and the Two Strings. She lives in Portland, Oregon, and at last count has knit twenty-five sweaters.

Praise For…


A New York Times Book Reiview Notable Children's Book of 2018
A Boston Globe Best Children's Book of 2018
Selected as the Best Graphic Novel of 2018 by Parents Magazine

"Beautifully drawn, brutally funny, brilliantly honest. Vera is such a good cartoonist I almost can’t stand it.” —Raina Telgemeier, author of Smile


"Perfect for fans of Shannon Hale’s Real Friends (2017), this will easily lodge a place in readers’ hearts, even as it has them rolling in the aisles."—Booklist, starred

"The story, both culturally specific and universal, is a welcome addition to the growing canon of comics tales by talented women cartoonists (Raina Telgemeier, Tillie Walden, Zeina Abirached, Cece Bell, and many others) based on their own lives."—Horn Book, starred

"The dialogue rings true, the pace is seamless, and the panel artwork, in woodsy browns and greens, conveys feelings with clean, assured lines. By turns sardonic, adorable, and noble, Vera is a beguiling hero who learns how to recognize who's really on her side."—Publishers Weekly, starred

"A gorgeous, emotional memoir worthy of any graphic novel collection."—School Library Journal, starred

"While the culturally specific references will particularly resonate with kids of Russian heritage, the larger story will strike chords with any kid who has ever struggled to find a place to belong."—Kirkus

"There’s no real villainy here, just the quotidian slings and arrows carelessly shot by kids more concerned with fun than empathy. That makes Vera a character with appeal to every tween who’s ever felt disappointed by peers—or by a fulfilled wish that didn’t live up to its bright, shiny promise."—The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books



Product Details
ISBN: 9781626724457
ISBN-10: 1626724458
Publisher: First Second
Publication Date: April 24th, 2018
Pages: 256
Language: English