Jackaby (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Jackaby Cover Image
$9.95
On our shelves now:
Lake Forest Park
1 on hand, as of Dec 13 9:45am
(YA-FICTION)
Ravenna
1 on hand, as of Dec 13 9:45am
(YA-FICTION)
Seward Park
9 on hand, as of Dec 13 9:45am
(YA-FICTION)

Staff Reviews


Sherlock meets Doctor Who but from the point of view of an awesome female lead. Add in some cool mythology, sharp wit, and a lot of adventure and follow up with a dose of the macabre. A great start to a wonderfulf series! (I've bought several copies to hand out as gifts)

— From Lish

Description


“Sherlock Holmes crossed with Buffy the Vampire Slayer.” —Chicago Tribune

Newly arrived in New Fiddleham, New England, 1892, and in need of a job, Abigail Rook meets R. F. Jackaby, an investigator of the unexplained with a keen eye for the extraordinary--including the ability to see supernatural beings. Abigail has a gift for noticing ordinary but important details, which makes her perfect for the position of Jackaby’s assistant. On her first day, Abigail finds herself in the midst of a thrilling case: A serial killer is on the loose. The police are convinced it’s an ordinary villain, but Jackaby is certain the foul deeds are the work of the kind of creature whose very existence the local authorities--with the exception of a handsome young detective named Charlie Cane--seem adamant to deny.

“The rich world of this debut demands sequels.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“We honestly couldn’t put it down.” —Nerdist.com

“Toss together an alternate 19th-century New England city, a strong tradition of Sherlockian pastiche, and one seriously ugly hat, and this lighthearted and assured debut emerges, all action and quirk.” —Publishers Weekly


• A Top Ten Fall ’14 Kids’ Indie Next Pick
• A 2014 Kirkus Reviews Best Book for Young Adults
• A 2015 YALSA Top Ten Best Fiction for Young Adults Title
• A 2015 Pacific Northwest Book Award Winner
• A 2015–2016 Georgia Peach Award Nominee
• A Junior Library Guild Selection

About the Author


William Ritter is an Oregon author and educator. He is the proud father of the two bravest boys in the Wild Wood, and husband to the indomitable Queen of the Deep Dark. The Oddmire, Book 1: Changeling is his first book for middle-grade readers. Visit William Ritter online at rwillritter.wordpress.com and find him on Twitter: @Willothewords.

Praise For…


“With tension as taut as a high wire, this series blends laugh-out-loud humor and ghastly horror with supernatural skill. You don’t have to read the first book to enjoy this one, but we highly recommend it because reading the series is straight-up fun. Perfect for fans of Harry Potter, Grimm and Sherlock Holmes.”—Justine Magazine

“Ritter’s debut skillfully blends science with the supernatural and balances whimsy with violence. The smartly paced plot wraps up neatly, but the rich world of this debut demands sequels.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Toss together an alternate 19th-century New England city, a strong tradition of Sherlockian pastiche, and one seriously ugly hat, and this lighthearted and assured debut emerges, all action and quirk.” —Publishers Weekly


Product Details
ISBN: 9781616205461
ISBN-10: 1616205466
Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers
Publication Date: August 25th, 2015
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: Jackaby