The Everything Knots Book: Step-By-Step Instructions for Tying Any Knot (Everything® Series) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Everything Knots Book: Step-By-Step Instructions for Tying Any Knot (Everything® Series) By Randy Penn Cover Image
On our shelves now:
Seward Park (order processing takes 24 hours)
5 on hand, as of May 19 4:45am

Staff Reviews

  • A practical introduction to knots
  • A guide to navigating cord, line, and other strand-stuff
  • Excellent illustrations of knot diagrams, with clearly organized parts, and easy-to-understand directions
  • A handful of radical perspectives on net-works
— From Nick


Simple instructions on how to tie over 100 useful and decorative knots

A well-tied knot is at once a practical tool and a work of art. With names like "hangman's noose" and "wagoneer's hitch," knots have a rich history of usefulness and an aesthetic appeal all their own.

From the boat to the backyard, The Everything Knots Book provides simple instructions on how to tie knots for any situation. Written by Randy Penn, a member of the International Guild of Knot Tyers, this handy guide walks readers through the basics and offers myriad suggestions for creative uses of these knots.

Mr. Penn shows readers how to:
  • Choose the right rope and knot for the job
  • Tie knots safely and securely
  • Create decorative knots for clothing and accessories
  • Practice knot-tying through games and exercises

Packed with easy-to-follow instructions and clear illustrations, The Everything Knots Book makes learning this useful skill fun and easy.

About the Author

Randy Penn is the editor for Interknot, the quarterly newsletter for the North American Branch of the International Guild of Knot Tyers. He holds a master's degree in physics and has traveled through the United States and England studying the use and history of knots, rope, and ropemaking.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781593370329
ISBN-10: 1593370326
Publisher: Everything
Publication Date: March 5th, 2004
Pages: 288
Language: English
Series: Everything® Series