Glinda of OZ (Children's Classics #13) (Paperback)

Glinda of OZ (Children's Classics #13) By L. Frank Baum Cover Image
Out of stock, usually available in 3-10 days


Classics for Your Collection:


The Fourteenth Land of OZ

Princess Ozma and Dorothy travel to an obscure corner of the Land of Oz, in order to prevent a war between two local powers, the Skeezers and the Flatheads. The leaders of the two tribes prove obstinate. Unable to prevent the war, Dorothy and Ozma find themselves imprisoned on the Skeezers' glass-covered island, which has been magically submerged to the bottom of its lake.

Their situation worsens when the warlike queen Coo-ee-oh, who is holding them captive and who alone knows how to raise the island back to the surface of the lake, loses her battle and gets transformed into a swan, forgetting all her magic in the process. Ozma and Dorothy summon Glinda, who, with help from several magicians and magical assistants, must find a way to raise the island and liberate its trapped inhabitants.

Facts and Trivia About the Book:

1. Glinda of Oz is the fourteenth Land of Oz book written by children's author L. Frank Baum.

2. The printed text of the book features one significant change from Baum's manuscript. In the manuscript, Red Reera first appears as a skeleton, its bones wired together, with glowing red eyes in the sockets of its skull. The printed text makes Reera the Red first appear as a gray ape in an apron and lace cap - a comical sight rather than a frightening and disturbing specter.

3. The submerged city of the Skeezers in this book may have been suggested to Baum by the semi-submerged Temple of Isis at Philae in Egypt, which the Baums had seen on their trip to Europe and Egypt in the first six months of 1906.

scroll Up and Get Your Copy

Other Children's Books From Our Library:

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain https: //

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain https: //

American Fairy Tales by L. Frank Baum https: //

Indian Fairy Tales by Joseph Jacobs https: //

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum https: //

TIK-TOK of OZ by L. Frank Baum https: //

Ozma of Oz by L. Frank Baum https: //

The Story of Doctor Dolittle by Hugh Lofting https: //

The Velveteen Rabbit by Margery Williams https: //

Grimm's Fairy Tales by Brothers Grimm https: //

Sky Island by L. Frank Baum https: //

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett https: //

The Scarecrow of OZ by L. Frank Baum https: //

About the Author

Lyman Frank Baum (May 15, 1856 - May 6, 1919), was an American author who was a specialist in children's books. He was particularly famous for his The Wonderful Wizard of Oz series, a sensational hit among children and continues to do so. He was better known by his pen name L. Frank Baum. His stories have formed the basis for such popular films as The Wizard of Oz (1939), produced by the famous Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studios Inc. and Oz the Great and Powerful (2013). Named "Lyman" after his uncle, Baum didn't like his first name much obviously and chose to be called by his middle name "Frank" instead. Baum wrote about his purpose in introduction of his book: "The Wonderful Wizard of Oz was written solely to pleasure children today. It aspires to being a modernized fairy tale, in which the wonderment and joy are retained and the heart-aches and nightmares are left out."

Product Details
ISBN: 9781535595513
ISBN-10: 1535595515
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
Publication Date: July 29th, 2016
Pages: 126
Language: English
Series: Children's Classics