The Patchwork Girl of Oz (Wizard of Oz #7) (Paperback)

The Patchwork Girl of Oz (Wizard of Oz #7) By Richard S. Hartmetz (Editor), L. Frank Baum Cover Image
Out of stock, usually available in 3-10 days


Ojo, the Unlucky Munchkin is forced to venture out of the Dark Forest to save his Uncle by assembling the magic ingredients for a potion that can bring him back to life. Along the way, he meets a living girl made out of patchwork quilts and cotton stuffing, a conceited Glass Cat, the Shaggy Man, and the Woozy. Will they reach Dorothy, the Scarecrow and Ozma in the Emerald City and save Unc Nunkie? Join us for a story of quests for second chances as we return to everyone's favorite fairyland.

About the Author

Lyman Frank Baum was born on May 15, 1856 in Chittenango, New York. He was educated at home until age twelve, when he was shipped off to the Peekskill Military Academy where he spent much of his time daydreaming. After only two years, he returned home and began writing. In 1882, Baum married Maud Gage, with whom he would spend the rest of his life. For a shot time, they opened a bazaar in the Dakota's, but his kindness at extending credit for items, caused the business to go bankrupt. In 1897, he published his first book, "Mother Goose in Prose," which was a moderate success and in 1899, he wrote "Father Goose, His Book," which was the best-selling children's book of that year. Baum wrote a total of fourteen "Oz" books, as well as a total of 59 novels including the "Aunt Jane" series under the name Edith Van Dyne, 83 short stories, and more than 200 poems. He also tried his hand at stage musicals and movies. He died from a stroke on May 6, 1919, just 9 days short of his 63rd birthday and a year before "Glinda of Oz" was published, leaving a legacy that would enchant generations.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781482772562
ISBN-10: 1482772566
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
Publication Date: March 14th, 2013
Pages: 326
Language: English
Series: Wizard of Oz