Juliet's Nurse (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Juliet's Nurse Cover Image
$25.99
Hard to Find

Staff Reviews


Angelica and Pietro have a stillborn baby, coincidentally, on the same day that Juliet is born to Lord and Lady Cappelletto, who have been unsuccessful in birthing a son. Hired as the milk mother to Juliet, Angelica falls in love with the baby, continuing to stay on long after she is weaned. Juliet's cousin, Tybalt, adores both Juliet and Pietro, who teaches him the art of bees and honey. Full of colorful, dialogue, this tale is yet another slant on "Romeo and Juliet," brimming with joys and sorrows! 

— From Jane

Description


The International Bestseller

An enthralling new telling of Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet--told from the perspective of Juliet's nurse. "Lois Leveen's richly detailed, fascinating novel offers a wholly original and intriguing take on one of Shakespeare's most beloved plays" (New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Chiaverini).

In Verona, a city ravaged by plague and political rivalries, a mother mourning the death of her day-old infant enters the household of the powerful Cappelletti family to become the wet-nurse to their newborn baby. As she serves her beloved Juliet over the next fourteen years, the nurse learns the Cappellettis' darkest secrets. Those secrets--and the nurse's deep personal grief--erupt across five momentous days of love and loss that destroy a daughter, and a family.

By turns sensual, tragic, and comic, Juliet's Nurse gives voice to one of literature's most memorable and distinctive characters, a woman who was both insider and outsider among Verona's wealthy ruling class. Exploring the romance and intrigue of interwoven loyalties, rivalries, jealousies, and losses only hinted at in Shakespeare's play, this is a never-before-heard tale of the deepest love in Verona--the love between a grieving woman and the precious child of her heart.

In the tradition of Sarah Dunant, Philippa Gregory, and Geraldine Brooks, Juliet's Nurse is a rich prequel that reimagines the world's most cherished tale of love and loss, suffering and survival.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781476757445
ISBN-10: 1476757445
Publisher: Atria Books
Publication Date: September 23rd, 2014
Pages: 384
Language: English