Heap House (Iremonger Trilogy #1) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Heap House (Iremonger Trilogy #1) Cover Image
Out of stock, usually available in 1-5 days

Staff Reviews

"It all really began...on the day my Aunt Rosamund's door handle went missing."

And so begins the narrative of Clod Iremonger. This book has such strange things as birth objects, rogue seagulls, an ostrich that may or may not be living in the house, dark secrets, a forest of chimneys, and myriad of strange cousins. It's dark, funny, and highly imaginative. It's also quite creepy and perfect for this Halloween season.

— From Halley


A Kirkus Best Teen Book of 201 A New York Times Book Review Editor's Pick A Publishers Weekly Indie Pick: Big Books from Small Presses Welcome to Heap House, the sprawling, slipshod maze of a mansion, built on the "Heaps," a collection of forgotten trash and curios. Young Clod Iremonger and his eccentric family, the "kings of mildew, moguls of mold," made their fortune from this collected detritus. The Iremongers are an odd old family, each the owner of the birth object they must keep with them at all times. Clod is perhaps the oddest of all--his gift and his curse is that he can hear all of the objects of Heap House whispering. Yes, a storm is brewing over Heap House and the house's many objects are showing strange signs of life. Clod is on the cusp of being "trousered" and married off (unhappily) to his cousin Pinalippy when he meets the plucky orphan servant Lucy Pennant, with whose help he begins to uncover the dark secrets of his family's empire. The first installment of the Iremonger Trilogy, Heap House introduces readers to a gloriously imagined dark world whose inhabitants come alive on the page--and in Edward Carey's fantastical illustrations. Heap House is a book that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Roald Dahl and Mervyn Peake, young and old alike. Mystery, romance, and the perils of the Heaps await.

About the Author

Edward Carey is the author and illustrator of two novels for adults, Observatory Mansions and Alva and Irva, which was longlisted for the IMPAC Literary Award. The Iremonger Trilogy is his first work for young readers. Born in England, he now lives in Austin, Texas, with his wife and two children, where he wrote the Iremonger Trilogy because he missed feeling cold and gloomy.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781468311181
ISBN-10: 1468311182
Publisher: Overlook Press
Publication Date: July 21st, 2015
Pages: 416
Language: English
Series: Iremonger Trilogy