Where There's a Will (Rowland Sinclair WWII Mysteries) (Paperback)

Where There's a Will (Rowland Sinclair WWII Mysteries) By Sulari Gentill Cover Image
$15.99
Unavailable at this time.

Description


A fascinating historical mystery by Sulari Gentill, author of #1 LibraryReads pick The Woman in the Library

2021 NED KELLY AWARD NOMINEE, BEST CRIME FICTION

Hell hath no fury like a family disinherited…

American millionaire Daniel Cartwright has been shot dead: three times in the chest, and once in the head. His body is found in Harvard Yard, dressed in evening attire. No one knows who he planned to meet there, or why the staunch Oxford man would be caught dead at Harvard—literally.

Australian Rowland Sinclair, his mate from Oxford and longtime friend, is named executor of the will, to his great surprise—and that of Danny's family. Events turn downright ugly when the will all but disinherits Danny's siblings in favor of one Otis Norcross, whom no one knows or is able to locate. Amidst assault, kidnapping, and threats of slander, Rowly struggles to understand Danny's motives, find the missing heir, and identify his friend's killer before the clock—and his luck—run out.

A deft blend of history and mystery, WHERE THERE'S A WILL offers an alternately charming and chilling snapshot of Boston and New York in the 1930s, with cameo appearances by luminaries of the day including Marion Davies, Randolph Hearst, Errol Flynn, Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald, and an arrogantly ardent Joe Kennedy, who proves no match for Rowly's sculptress friend Edna…

This Rowland Sinclair WWII Mystery is a murder mystery at its finest. With depth, a touch of British humor, and a baffling crime perfect for puzzle lovers, this gripping novel will appeal to fans of Rhys Bowen, Kerry Greenwood, and Jacqueline Winspear.  

About the Author


After setting out to study astrophysics, graduating in law and then abandoning her legal career to write books, SULARI GENTILL now grows French black truffles on her farm in the foothills of the Snowy Mountains of Australia.

Gentill’s Rowland Sinclair mysteries have won and/or been shortlisted for the Davitt Award and the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, and her stand-alone metafiction thriller, After She Wrote Him won the Ned Kelly Award for Best Crime Novel in 2018. Her tenth Sinclair novel, A Testament of Character, was shortlisted for the Ned Kelly Best Crime Novel in 2021.

Praise For…


"Rowland’s leisurely 10th case colorfully re-creates the flavor of serial mysteries of Hollywood’s golden age." — Kirkus Reviews

"Gentill elegantly infuses historically accurate details on the rise of fascism into the text, providing insight that’s relevant to today’s readers. This is historical mystery fiction at its finest." — Publishers Weekly


Product Details
ISBN: 9781464214905
ISBN-10: 1464214905
Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press
Publication Date: January 18th, 2022
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: Rowland Sinclair WWII Mysteries