Shanghai Secrets (Rowland Sinclair WWII Mysteries) (Paperback)

Shanghai Secrets (Rowland Sinclair WWII Mysteries) By Sulari Gentill Cover Image
$15.99
Out of stock, usually available in 3-10 days

Description


A fascinating historical mystery by Sulari Gentill, author of #1 LibraryReads pick The Woman in the Library

In a city full of strangers, be careful whom you trust…

Shanghai, 1935. Black sheep gentleman sleuth Rowland Sinclair arrives with his bohemian housemates from Sydney, Australia to explore a new city and take the name Sinclair international with a new class of negotiations. A novice to global commerce, Rowland is under strict instructions from his brother to keep a low profile…but that soon becomes next to impossible. A beautiful Russian taxi girl—who once claimed to be the Princess Anastasia and who danced in Rowly's arms the night before—is found slain in his suite.

Out of sympathy for the murdered girl and to clear his name, Rowly and his companions embark upon their own investigation into the murder mystery. They soon discover there are many people who may have wanted Alexandra Romanovna dead. As they are drawn deeper into Shanghai society and its underworld, Rowly searches for answers in a strange city determined to ruin him.

Perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen, Kerry Greenwood, and Jacqueline Winspear and exploring the simmering underbelly of Shanghai just years before WWII, Shanghai Secrets is a historical mystery that brings alive an expatriate playground where East and West collide, the stakes are high, and fortunes—and lives—are easily lost.

About the Author


After setting out to study astrophysics, graduating in law and then abandoning her legal career to write books, SULARI GENTILL now grows French black truffles on her farm in the foothills of the Snowy Mountains of Australia.

Gentill’s Rowland Sinclair mysteries have won and/or been shortlisted for the Davitt Award and the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, and her stand-alone metafiction thriller, After She Wrote Him won the Ned Kelly Award for Best Crime Novel in 2018. Her tenth Sinclair novel, A Testament of Character, was shortlisted for the Ned Kelly Best Crime Novel in 2021.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781464213618
ISBN-10: 1464213615
Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press
Publication Date: January 12th, 2021
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: Rowland Sinclair WWII Mysteries