Traitor of Redwinter (The Redwinter Chronicles #2) (Hardcover)

Traitor of Redwinter (The Redwinter Chronicles #2) By Ed McDonald Cover Image
On our shelves now:
Lake Forest Park (order processing takes 24 hours)
1 on hand, as of Jul 15 12:35pm

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the The Redwinter Chronicles series.


Traitor of Redwinter is the second in Ed McDonald’s Redwinter Chronicles, full of shady politics, militant monks, ancient powers... and a young woman navigating a world in which no one is quite what they seem.

The power of the Sixth Gate grows stronger within Raine each day—to control it, she needs lessons no living Draoihn can teach her. Her fledgling friendships are tested to a breaking point as she tries to face what she has become, and her master Ulovar is struck by a mysterious sickness that slowly saps the vitality from his body, leaving Raine to face her growing darkness alone. There’s only one chance to turn the tide of power surging within her—to learn the secrets the Draoihn themselves purged from the world.

The book can teach her. She doesn’t know where she found it, or when exactly, but its ever changing pages whisper power that has lain untouched for centuries.

As the king’s health fails and the north suffers in the grip of famine, rebellious lords hunger for the power of the Crown, backed by powers that would see the Crowns undone. Amidst this growing threat, Raine’s former friend Ovitus brings a powerful new alliance, raising his status and power of his own. He professes support for the heir to the throne even as others would see him take it for himself, and desperately craves Raine’s forgiveness—or her submission.

But the grandmaster has her own plans for Raine, and the deadly training she has been given has not been conducted carelessly. In Raine she seeks to craft a weapon to launch right into her enemy’s heart, as Redwinter seeks to hold onto power.

Amidst threats old and new, Raine must learn the secrets promised by the book, magic promised by a queen with a crown of feathers. A queen to whom Raine has promised more than she can afford to give…

About the Author

Ed McDonald is the author of the Raven’s Mark and Redwinter Chronicles series of novels. He studied Ancient History and Archaeology at the University of Birmingham, and Medieval History at Birkbeck College, University of London. Ed is passionate about fantasy tabletop role-play games and has studied medieval swordsmanship since 2013. He currently lives with his partner, author Catriona Ward, in London, England.

Praise For…

Praise for Traitor of Redwinter:

“Filled with action, suspense, and magic… a nuanced, complex story.”—Library Journal

Praise for Daughter of Redwinter:

“A complex backdrop of culture, magic and characters... Go buy it.”—Robin Hobb

“Uncommonly vivid and vigorous sword and sorcery… McDonald makes familiar story and character beats come alive with imagination and energy.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review

Daughter of Redwinter has it all: enigmatic characters, shady politics, secret cults, ancient evils, and a young woman grappling with her own shattered identity while navigating a world in which no one is quite what they seem.”—Nicholas Eames, author of Kings of the Wyld

Daughter of Redwinter is so good…I was hooked from the brilliant opening line.”—James Barclay, author of The Chronicles of the Raven series

“McDonald’s medieval fantasy world feels lived-in, with a robust history, an intricate magic system, and a host of fascinating characters, but Raine herself—vulnerable but fierce, direct, and almost ruthlessly practical—is the heart of this memorable story.”—Booklist

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250811745
ISBN-10: 1250811740
Publisher: Tor Books
Publication Date: October 24th, 2023
Pages: 448
Language: English
Series: The Redwinter Chronicles