Icebreaker (The Icebreaker Trilogy #1) (Paperback)

Icebreaker (The Icebreaker Trilogy #1) Cover Image
On our shelves now:
Lake Forest Park
1 on hand, as of Feb 25 12:15pm

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the The Icebreaker Trilogy series.


Twelve-year-old Petrel is an outcast, living on an ancient icebreaker that has been following the same ocean course for three hundred years. The ship's crew has forgotten its original purpose and has broken into three warring tribes. Everyone has a tribe except Petrel, whose parents were thrown overboard for alleged crimes. She has survived by living in the dark corners of the ship, and speaking to no one except two large rats, Mister Smoke and Mrs. Slink.

When a boy is discovered on a frozen iceberg, the crew is immediately on alert. Petrel hides him on board, hoping he'll be her friend. What she doesn't know is that the ship guards a secret, held down deep in its belly, and the boy has been sent to seek and destroy it.

Icebreaker by Lian Tanner is a lush fantasy and thrilling adventure story, with an unforgettable friendship at its heart.

About the Author

Lian Tanner is the author of the Keepers trilogy (Museum of Thieves, City of Lies, Path of Beasts), winner of numerous awards around the world, including the Aurealis Award for Children's Fiction. She lives in Australia.

Praise For…

“The world of Icebreaker is wonderfully realised: the clanking engines, rusted walkways and icy upper decks of the ship make for vivid settings. There is suspense and danger, and the characterisation is very human and ultimately moving … The first in a new series, Icebreaker should appeal to middle- and upper-primary readers who love adventure, suspense and strange worlds.” —Australian Bookseller and Publisher, four and a half stars, Sept 2013

“This new trilogy will bait readers with its intriguing premise, hook them with its starkly beautiful setting, and reel them in with its fascinating characters. . . . An artfully crafted adventure that's equal parts thought-provoking and thrilling.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Non-stop action against a magical backdrop; this is a wonderful worldto get lost in.”—Catherine Jinks, author of the Evil Genius trilogy

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250079855
ISBN-10: 1250079853
Publisher: Square Fish
Publication Date: August 16th, 2016
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: The Icebreaker Trilogy